fall cape fever

Well, it’s finally my last day.  I move back to Ames tomorrow for my junior year of college. (Scary, I know.)  As exciting as that is, and as bored as I’ve been this summer, I don’t really want to go.  Yes, it will be nice having a social life and getting into a routine again, but there are things I’m going to miss.  I’m going to miss my big bed.  I’m going to miss snuggling with my kitty every night.  I’m going to miss the sheer amount of space I have here.  I’m going to miss playing dirty clubs while watching a chick flick or the Olympics with my dad every night.  Mostly, I’m going to just miss being at home.  This is the last time I will ever live at home and quite frankly, that scares the crap out of me.

Since I was busy vacationing the past week, I have had only one week at home to pack.  This was my last week at Bath and Body Works and also my last week with regular access to a sewing machine.  After finishing Mal’s summer high-low dress on a not-so-nice note, I really wanted to squeeze in just one more project this summer before my life dissolves into chaos.

Last fall, I had gotten swept up by the magical trend of fall capes.  I love them.  All of them. Everything about them.  Then, I started sketching.  All I drew in my free time were capes.  I was drawing them in my classes and on receipt paper at work.  I just needed a cape.  A few weeks ago, I found a reasonably easy-looking cape pattern at JoAnn’s and swiped that baby up!  I haven’t made any outerwear since my junior year of high school, so it would definitely be a change of pace.  I found some super cute black and white checkered woven wool fabric that would be excellent for fall and winter.

The idea.

Now don’t get too excited.  I haven’t finished it yet.  In theory, I could have finished it before I left.  I don’t have a ton of packing left to do, so I could easily finish it tonight.  The real kicker is the buttons.  I haven’t made button holes in nearly four years.  I don’t remember how, but I do remember really sucking at it.  I’ll just save that for the first weekend I come home.

All in all, this pattern was ridiculously easy.  If I sat down and had a whole free day, i could’ve finished it in just a few hours.  Since I broke it up, essentially I have done the majority of it in three days.  On Wednesday, I cut the pattern pieces.  On Thursday, I made the yoke and collar.  On Friday, I made the base of the cape and attached it to the yoke.  All I have left is finishing the raw edges and the buttons.

This project brought a lot of unpleasant memories of my navy wool coat I had made, just screaming back to me.  As easy as this project is, it involves a lot of my least favorite things to do in sewing.  One is fusible interfacing.  It’s just annoying.  Making the yoke (the bib like part at the front and back, attached to the collar) was just confusing.  Looking back, it makes perfect sense, but my instructions happened to have out-of-register pictures and smudged ink, so I had no idea what they were saying.

Interfacing the yoke and collar.

The yoke before the collar was attached.

It seriously looks like a bib.

Once I figured the yoke out, I attached the collar.  It actually started looking more like fall fashion outerwear and less like something a child wears when eating spaghetti.

Collar is attached!

Before attaching the base of the cape, I had to sew these little patch deals on the inside of the front on each side.  I’ll be putting buttons there that will make “sleeves” of sorts.  After that, I attached the yoke to the base and now its finally getting somewhere!  Of course, the yoke edge and base edge weren’t the same size (typical) and that’s when I learned the art of notching.  I just hacked away at the raw edges until it fit.  Notching is my new best friend.  I thought I was going to have to pleat the back since there was such a difference in size.   Notching rocks. That’s all.

Attached! It’ll look a lot better once there are some buttons!

It’s looking like a cape!!

As you can probably tell, it’s a bit long.  I was shocked too.  I’m pretty tall, and never have I bought a pattern that is too long.  Crazy.  When I get around to hemming it, I’ll probably take off a few inches.  It came together really fast and it’s relatively easy.  The pattern includes a few other capes, even one with a hood!  I may go cape-crazy over Thanksgiving break when I get more than a weekend to work on something!

What do you think?  I think it’s pretty dang cute.

kaylee.

One thought on “fall cape fever

  1. Pingback: capetastical | pleatsandpearls

Any thoughts?

