nailing it

Today is the first day of my junior year of college.  What’s even scarier is that due to credits, next spring, I’ll be considered a senior. Say what?!?!  I know.  Crazy stuff.  I don’t have class until 11, and I woke up at 8:15.  Needless to say, I’ve been sitting around for over an hour with nothing to do.  I went out in the hallway to check my mail when I noticed the Iowa State Daily laying there.  Today is Monday.  I completely forgot.  My nail art article would be published today.  I brought it back to my apartment, expecting to flip through it for awhile, to even find my little article, but when I opened up to section C….BAM!

There it was.

My first article in the Daily.
Read the excitement.

Yupp, that huge picture with the tutorial to follow is mine.  When my editor said he needed a good picture so it could be big, I wasn’t expecting it to be that huge.  That’s what she said.  Thanks, Ian.  If you want to read my official Daily article, click here!

When embarking on this nail art adventure, I took some more step-by-step pictures along the way to do a better tutorial for my blog followers, where I wouldn’t be limited to under 400 words.  Alrighty, let’s get started.  This is what we’re aiming for:

Photo courtesy of Michael Kuiken.

As you can tell in the picture, mine are not perfect, nor am I a pro.  I’ve re-done my nails since and it was much easier and took a lot less time the second time around. (Try two hours less…)

Alright, here is what you’ll need:

-Anywhere from 3 to 7 nail polishes

-A neutral polish to be your base color underneath.  I used white.

-A top coat/clear coat

-Transparent tape

-Scissors

-Nail polish remover (to touch up the skin around the nail afterwards)

Start out by painting all of your nails the neutral color.  White makes the colors really pop and works for not only summer, but also fall.

Step 1

Now, the most important lesson I learned through this whole process was to be patient.  I am not a patient person and you need to be extremely patient for this to work.  Before moving onto the next step, always make sure your polish is 110% dry.  If it isn’t, the tape will peel off the base color and you get to start over.  My sister taught me that maybe 4-5 minutes after you paint your nails, to run them under cold water to quicken the drying process and keep the nails from chipping.  I don’t know the scientific truth to this, but it works.  Trust me.  Next, cut your tape into thin strips.  The thinner the strips, the more room for actual colors to show.  Then lay your strips in whatever fashion you desire on your nails.  I didn’t have a method to mine, so they were all different.

Step 2

Step 3

Now you can pick your polishes.  I stuck mostly to Pantone’s fall colors, but you can use literally whatever combination your heart desires.  Paint in the sections, being careful not to use too much polish.  If you use too much, it will run into the other sections.  When you’ve finished painting all of the sections, it’ll look something like this:

Step 4

Now it’s a waiting game.  I might even wait 25 or 30 minutes just to be safe.  Once you’re positive they’re dry, go ahead and peel off your tape strips (slowly).  There will definitely be a height difference between the colors and the base.  Then, take your clear coat and brush that on top.  I did two coats, just to be safe.

Step 5&6

It was really that easy.  Of course, if you’re not patient, it won’t turn out.  My message to you:  Be patient, be fashionable.  Done and done.

Here are more pictures that my roommate’s fiance, Michael Kuiken, took.  Isn’t he grand?

How fancy am I?

So fancy and a lot easier than it looks.

Well, time for me to go to class.

Good luck on your nails and wish me luck on my semester!

kaylee.

4 thoughts on “nailing it

  1. Pingback: all firred up. « pleatsandpearls

Any thoughts?

