mustard madness.

If the title drew you in and you’re super excited to read about a hot-dog eating contest gone awry, I’m sorry to disappoint.  There is no food involvement in this post, unless you count the handful of Halloween cookies I’m scarfing as I write this.  Speaking of scarfing, I made a scarf! (Haha, what a play on words.  I didn’t even mean to do that.)  But before I get to that, let me update you on life a little bit–I’ll keep it short.

I met with Target at the career fair last week and it went super well.  I applied for the internship and the deadline was yesterday, so hopefully I’ll hear some good news in the near future.  Until then, keep sending those good vibes my way!

I’m still dying over the fact that I hugged Anthony Rapp.  Still.  Didn’t see the picture yet? Now you can.

I have been a writing fool.  I just turned in my final draft for my Trend article that will be in the magazine.  It’s pretty badass, so when the issue comes out, (Not until end of November, sorry folks) I will post a link here for you all to check it out.  I also wrote a nightlife article for the Iowa State Daily on what to wear vs. what not to wear to the bars.  Considering I don’t go to the bars, it was quite interesting.  I’m figuring it was mildly offensive, especially to the sorority folk, so I’m guessing it will be cut down.  A lot.  I also did an article about Target coming to Iowa State for the career fair.  *Sigh* Exhaustion ensues.

Oh, and this weekend, I’m modeling for a bridal show for the bridal shop my roommate, Mckenzie, works for.  I tried on two dresses today and I fell in love.  The first dress I tried on I want to get married in. I’m pretty sure I yelled out “Yes! I’m saying yes to this dress!”, multiple times, as if I’m actually on a tv show.  I want it so much.  So much that I’d marry just about anyone so I could wear it.  If I don’t have any takers soon, I’ll just wear it to a job interview and be really really fancy. :)

Now somehow in the midst of all of this, I’ve been knitting a scarf.  Don’t worry, I don’t know how to actually knit–I use a loom!  If you’re not familiar with knitting on a loom, it’s basically a much easier and quicker version of knitting for those of us who are a bit knitting-challenged or just don’t have the time to learn how to knit by hand.  Here is what a loom looks like:

 

You can find a ton of youtube videos on how to actually knit on it, but I promise, if I could figure it out, anyone can.  But I digress, I’d been wanting a mustard scarf, because for those of you who don’t know me, mustard is hands-down my favorite color.  I have mustard everything–skirts, cardigans, shirts, even mustard TOMS.  It’s a mild obsession.  My parents got me mustard yarn last Christmas.  Yupp, 10 months ago, and I just now started knitting with it. I found time here and there throughout this semester so far (It’s midterms already. Did I mention that? MIDTERMS!) to work on it in bits and pieces.  I finally finished it last night, but it still was missing something.  It really would have been better as an infinity scarf, but I don’t know how to go about knitting it into an infinity scarf.  Soooo, my wonderful roommate, Mckenzie, let me borrow her sewing machine this morning to whip it into an infinity scarf! (Thanks, again!) I just did a zigzag stitch to hold it in place.

the zigzag stitch.

Here is how it turned out:

Thanks to my awesome friend Mary for taking pictures after lab today!

One without the sunglasses!

I figured I should have one to show I’m not a flasher.
Okay, you got me…I wanted to show off my gryffindor colors.

Yes, yes, yes–I know it’s not that cool compared to making a dress or something, but it’s all I can really do out at school.  I do plan to do a sweet Anthropologie-esque DIY in the near future.  And if I’m super ambitious, I may try to whip up a skirt or something while I’m home over Thanksgiving break. We’ll just have to see.

That’s all for now.

xo

kaylee.

4 thoughts on “mustard madness.

  1. Pingback: layer up: brave the cold in style | pleatsandpearls

Any thoughts?

