[perks of being a wall]flower

Can I please just start off by saying that today. was. AWESOME!!

Yes. That needed to be bolded and capitalized. I never do anything fun, ever. I am probably the world’s most boring college student.  I don’t go out, I don’t go to parties, I rarely even hang out with people outside of class because I’m so busy doing everything else.  Today, I rewarded myself for being productive all weekend by blowing off all of my homework plans.  (Don’t worry, Mom. None of it is due tomorrow.) Instead, Abby and I had friendship day.  We’re both so busy with school, work, applying for internships, group projects, etc., that we never have time to hang out.  So when we do hangout, we cram a week’s worth of activities into one day, or just a few hours.

We started out our day talking on the phone, planning our day for over an hour.  Then we went to JoAnn’s to pick up some supplies for our DIY, stopped by my apartment to grab a pliers, ran to the mall to get some Shea Cashmere since it’s so dry outside, ate Jimmy John’s (YUM), ran back to my apartment to grab a bigger purse, and then headed to the movie theatre.  That all happened in an hour and a half. We know how to get er done.

We went to see The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I might add, was fan-freaking-tastic.  So good I wanted to die.  But also so sad I wanted to die.  That good, folks. That good.  Before the movie, we sprinted to Kmart to get candy since it’s 10X the price over at the movie theatre.  We ate our Jimmy John’s and candy while watching the movie, hence why we ran back to my apartment for a second time to get a bigger purse.  After the movie, we made our usual Target run. (I said I’d update you, so here goes:  I didn’t even get an interview for the internship with them and that’s all there is to it. Please don’t ask why or say you can’t believe it, because I’ve heard it enough, and quite frankly, I’m tired of it now.)  I tried on the fabulous Kirna Zabete black, pleated dress with the pockets because it was the last one left–in my size.  Sigh.  Too bad I’m not allowed to spend money on clothing this month.  In true Abby+Kaylee fashion, we stalked a guy around that was wearing wine-colored TOMS, talking about this “fabulous” wine he bought for someone and how he wanted to share it by the fire with whoever he was on the phone with.  Cheesy? I think so.  Day=made.

Okay, let’s get on with things.  We headed back to Abby’s apartment for DIY time.  I found a super cute Anthropologie inspired DIY on pinterest months ago and I finally got around to it.  It’s ridiculously easy and relatively cheap!

Here is what you’ll need:

-small scrap fabric; i used fabric quarters for 99 cents at JoAnn’s.

-felt

-chain

-hot glue gun

-fabric scissors

-optional: pliers

Start out by cutting out circles from the felt.  Depending how large you want your poms, will determine how big your circles should be.  Mine were around 1″/1.5″.  Cut out as many felt circles as you want there to be poms.  They don’t have to be perfect.  Ours weren’t!

Next, cut out circles of your fabric.  Place the circles of felt over the fabric as a template of sorts.  I layered the fabric and cut multiple at a time to make it go faster.  I ended up using about 9 fabric circles per pom, for reference.

Now you can start hot glueing your fabric to your pom.  Fold each fabric circle in half and then in half again.  Hot glue on the point/center of the fabric and stick it to the center of the felt circle.  You will use your remaining fabric circles by applying them in the same manner in a circle around the first one.  Make sure to “fluff” them as you go, so it creates the pom pom effect.

before

after

It was super easy, I promise!!  Way easier than I imagined.  Now for the chain:  if you have one that is already the length you want it, skip ahead.  If you were silly like me and bought a 76″ chain from JoAnn’s, you will have to break it apart.  Use a pliers, especially if your chain is heavier weighted, like mine.  I made my chain around 16″, but I wish I would have made it around 12-13″.  Your call!

Next, arrange your flower poms on the remaining felt in the same manner you want them to lay for your necklace.  Glue down the middle three, leaving the end ones free.  Then, glue one end of you chain to the back of your top pom and then stick it down to the felt in the place you had positioned it.  Do the same on the opposite side.

Glue down middle poms onto felt.

Glue the chain to the top pom, then glue it down onto your felt.

What it should look like up to this point.

Now, cut the felt around the poms, so it can’t be seen from the front view.  Don’t cut it too close together in between the poms, to the point where the felt may be too thin and rip.  Depending how flimsy your felt is, you may want to cut another piece of felt in that “U” shape and glue it to the back for extra reinforcement.

Photo courtesy of Abby McVicker.

Hah.

I think it turned out super cute!  And, like I said, it was super cheap.  Probably around $5 for the fabric, felt, and chain, but I have enough fabric and chain for several more!!

What do you think??

Also, feel free to check out my pinterest–it has all of my DIY projects on there as well!

Happy DIY-ing!

xo,

kaylee.

3 thoughts on “[perks of being a wall]flower

  1. You’re not boring, parties have always found a way of draining me- mentally. I just muster up the scant intelligence that it takes to get through the night and hope no one can manage to rekindle my contempt for trivial interaction.At least you found a way to have fun without habitually drinking yourself into an unattractive slumber by the end of the evening. Good on you, and lovely work you’ve got here.

  2. Pingback: 20. vote | pleatsandpearls

Any thoughts?

