call it what you want.

Yes, the semester is finally over and I am free again.  As nice as it is to be done with classes, I am bored out of my mind.  I have a little too much time on my hands.  I’m stuck in Ames until Tuesday for work.  I’m getting super burned out, but I’m really going to miss my work girls!  On Tuesday, I’m going to Iowa City to visit my pre-school BFFs, Brooke and Erin.  I’m am ridiculously stoked.  We have the best time together, even after all these years.  On Wednesday, I get to go home to be with my kitties (and my family)!  I’m really looking forward to the next few weeks.  They will be filled with relaxation, family, friends, lots of Christmas treats, and hopefully a few projects!  But since I’ve been stuck at school, I’ve had plenty of time to craft.  My roommate, Mckenzie, and I did some crafting last night and I’ll hopefully post a bracelet-type DIY sometime later this week!

If you’ve been on Pinterest at all, you’ve probably seen the quote t-shirt DIY where you screen print your own clothing.  We both had pinned it awhile ago and seeing as we both had nothing to do last night and no food to eat, we figured we could craft instead.  We changed it up a little from the original for our shirts, so feel free to change whatever you’d like to fit your taste better.

Here is what you’ll need:

-Plain shirt; I used a Hanes sweatshirt from Walmart for $9.

-Fabric paint; you’ll need two colors if you decide to do the hombre look like I did.

-Rounded sponge paint brush

-Freezer paper

-Cutting board

-X-acto knife

-Iron

-Marker

-Plastic/Paper bag

DSCN2232

Prep time: 30-40 minutes; Total time: 4.5 hours

First, you need to decide what quote you want to do.  Since this was my first one, I wanted to do something relatively short and easy, as opposed to my original idea [Living is easy with eyes closed].  I went with a Foster The People quote, “Call it what you want.”  It describes my attitude.  It’s short.  It’s easy.  It’s perfect.  Done.

Instead of writing with our own handwriting directly on the freezer paper, we decided to type it out on the computer, print it, and then trace it onto the freezer paper.  This worked really well.  Before you trace it onto the freezer paper, make sure to lay it out onto your shirt to make sure it fits.


DSCN2234

After it is traced on the freezer paper, cut it out on the cutting board with an X-acto knife.  I chose a sans serif type font, so it was very easy to cut out.  The more straight lines–the better.

DSCN2235

 

After it is all cut out, iron the freezer paper at a medium-high heat onto the shirt.

 

DSCN2236

 

After it is ironed on, place a plastic bag inside of the shirt so the paint doesn’t seep through to the back.  Then sponge the paint onto the letters.  I decided I wanted it to be hombre, so I did white at the bottom, yellow at the top and mixed it in the middle.  I did two coats.  Then, let it dry following the directions on the fabric paint bottle.  For us,  it needed to dry for 4 hours.

DSCN2237

 

After the 4 hours,  carefully pull the freezer paper off.  With our particular paint, we needed to wait 72 hours before washing it.  I have not washed mine yet, seeing as I did it last night.  But, it turned out super well.  Much better than expected!

DSCN2241

 

DSCN2245

 

DSCN2242

 

I loved this project and it was so easy to do!  Since we had to buy most of the materials, it cost close to $20 for the shirt, paint, x-acto knife, freezer paper, and paint sponges.  It will definitely be a lower cost if you make multiple shirts, since the sponges, freezer paper, paint, and x-acto knife are a one time cost.  I’m definitely going to make more of these.  They would make great gifts!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “call it what you want.

  1. Pingback: Merry Christmas | Ingrid and Jimmy Updates

Any thoughts?

