leather + lace

IMG_2912

Since classes have ended, I’ve been a busy girl!  I’ve done two DIYs, had three consecutive slumber parties, and saw a lot of good friends.  Abby and I had our last hang out on Monday, before she moves to LA for her BCBG internship.  I also got to see Brooke, my elementary school best friend, last night.  Overall, I had a fantastic few days, which was topped off today when I got my final grades in for the fall semester–another 4.0!  I’m extremely pleased and hope to keep the ball rolling into the Spring semester.

This weekend, I also hung out with my friend, Brenna, who also has a fashion blog.  We went to campus to take pictures for her blog, which inspired me to start doing outfit-based posts as well.  We have a super cool campus, so the pictures turned out super sweet.  Let’s get started.

I am absolutely obsessed with leather jackets.  I’ve had this obsession ever since my older sister got one when I was probably only a freshman in high school.  They can instantly add a mixture of pure class and badass to an otherwise simple outfit.  More recently, I’ve been playing around with opposites a lot–denim vests with dresses, hippie headbands with a string of pearls, etc.  My favorite combination is mixing leather and lace.  This look will turn heads if executed well and can show off your edgy personality with ease.

 

IMG_2932

IMG_2921

 

IMG_2937

 

IMG_2945

 

IMG_2940

IMG_2956

 

This look is very simple to put together and is comprised mainly of staple items.  The leather jacket I’ve had for a few years and is from Express.  They have similar jackets this year as well.  They great thing about Express’s jackets are that they’re “minus the leather”.  If you happen to be vegan or just love your animals, their jackets are absolutely guilt-free!  The dress was a total steal that I got a few summers ago.  It’s from the Dana Buchman collection at Kohl’s.  It happened to be 80% off and I had $10 Kohl’s cash, so I got it for $0.80.  Yes.  Eighty cents.  Unbelievable.  I realize it will be pretty hard to find such a steal twice, but I did find this Dorothy Perkins frock for only $35.  It’s very similar, not to mention affordable.  I also found a Dorothy Perkins belt that is extremely similar to mine for only $9.  The clutch is a lavender Coach wristlet that I’ve had for at least five years.  Since this style is no longer in stock, I found a few alternatives.  If you love Coach, here is a cute navy-trimmed, khaki wristlet.  If you are a lover of lavender, I found this fabulous Fossil flap clutch.  The earrings are from a cute new boutique in Ames called Portobello Road.  If you’re not in the Ames area, do not fear–these gold and black drop earrings can be found at Polyvore for a cool $32.  My favorite part of the outfit is my brand-spankin-new pair of mahogany ankle booties.  The best part?  They’re only $35 at Target.

This outfit is extremely versatile and can easily transition from day to night depending on jewelry choice and adding/removing layers.  Happy shopping!

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “leather + lace

  1. Pingback: blogiversary. | pleatsandpearls

Any thoughts?

