just peachy.

IMG_4326

Hello, hello!

Happy Friday!  This week’s weather has had one hell of a temper, thus why we took our blog pictures indoors today.  I realized today that I haven’t really updated you on my life as of lately.  So here is my abridged-but-still-too-long-version of my past three weeks:

Yes, three weeks into school already.  Crazy, right?  I still have no idea what I’m doing.  I’m running around with my head cut off, I already dropped a class, I’ve been busy with Trend, and I had my second internship interview today!  Although I’ve had some very stressful days, where I don’t see how it’s possible for everything to  get done, I have survived and overall, I’m having a pretty good time.  I’ve been able to stay sane with weekly Coldstone binges with my roommate and frequent trips to the gym (ironic, I know).  Being the menswear editor for Trend has been awesome.  I love having ideas that actually are heard and sometimes used.  It’s a great feeling.  I won’t give too many details away, but I get to be in charge of ISU’s Ultimate Bachelor search.  A.K.A–Kaylee gets to sit down and interview five of Iowa State’s finest men–single men–in a few weeks.  Basically, if I come out of this single, I’m obviously doing it wrong.

Going to Trend meetings has really made me get creative with outfits–color in particular.  We have to dress professionally since we’re the executive staff, but I like to have fun with it.  I’ve been wearing a lot of high-waisted items with cropped button downs tied at my waist.  Very 1950s, I know.  Since it’s been cold out and since I have very few colors of sweater tights to wear, I’ve ditched any form of rules I’ve had about mixing colors in the past and I’m just going for it.  As long as they coordinate in some manner or another and I feel confident, I rock it.

This morning I had my second phone interview for the internship I’m applying for, and I wanted to feel professional and fancy.  So although it was on the phone and he couldn’t see me, I had to get all dressed up–and you know what?  It worked.  I threw on my brand new peach Modcloth dress with a shimmery cardigan and some ankle boots and I felt so put together and so confident, like nothing in the world could stop me.  Playing with color brings a whole new world of confidence.  Mix it up and you’ll be sure to turn a few heads.

IMG_4308

IMG_4315

IMG_4319

IMG_4324

IMG_4332

Peach Modcloth Dress–(Similar)Mauve Ankle Boots–(Similar), Mint Cardigan–(Similar), Skinny Patent Belt, Tights (My roommate’s), Jeweled Bracelet (Target circa 2007), BCBGeneration cuff (TJ Maxx).

I’ll be sure to keep you posted on my internship hunt, but in the meantime, I’ve earned a well-deserved nap after my eight hours on campus.  Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Like PleatsandPearls on Facebook!

Any thoughts?

