colorblocked

IMG_4558

It’s been a very busy week (as always), but I did find time to do a DIY.  If you’ve been frequently reading, you may be wondering about my internship hunt–and I’m very excited to tell you that I will be interning at Lands’ End in their merchandising department this summer.  I can’t believe I got an internship so early on in the semester, but I’m very relieved/excited/antsy/on the of the world/all of the above.  I also got the chance to have my hair done by a super talented stylist at theSALON in Ames this week for one of my upcoming blog posts/posts for Lucky.  It was really fun and I can’t wait to blog about it!

It’s been awhile since I’ve gotten to do a DIY and I am very excited about this one.  I was perusing the accessory aisle at Target (you know, just your typical Saturday night…) and found some really cool belts with color-blocked, thread-wrapped chunks.  Of course, they were $16.99 and I couldn’t spend that on a Target belt when I am saving up for New York. (I leave for the field study in 5 weeks and 7 hours…not that I’m counting.)  However, around the corner they had a 75% rack of belts.  This could get crazy.  I managed to leave with just two belts, one of which was a skinny belt, much like the color blocked one, but without the thread wrapped blocks.  I figured, this would be easy enough to recreate–and it was.  More so than I originally thought.

I did a little research to see if anyone else had done this DIY before and I found a super cute blogger on Studs and Pearls who did the same thing.  Turns out, Target knocked it off of Anthropologie’s belt, but it’s the same concept.  I was able to recreate the belt for only $5.

Here is what you’ll need:

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 8.01.43 PM

-belt of your choice (Merona from Target)

-at least 3 colors of embroidery thread (2 skeins each)

-fabric glue

-scissors

_______________________________________________________________________________

First, you need to decide whether you want the thread to wrap the entire length of the belt, or if you prefer the separated blocks that Target did.  I went with the blocks, since I’m short on time and I really wanted to wear it to my Trend meeting that night.  Pick your starting point (mine was a few inches from the buckle) and tie the thread in a double knot, with the knot being on the back.

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 8.01.54 PM

Now, tightly wrap the thread around the belt, making sure to push each row next to the previous to ensure no gapping. When starting each new block, make sure you wrap the thread around the tail end of the knot, tying it down.  When your block is the size you want it, tie it off by looping your thread under the previous row.  Apply a little fabric glue where it’s knotted off, then cut the excess thread leaving about 1/2″.  Now begin your next color with the same idea.  Tuck the tail of your first color into your second when wrapping it around.  You will continue this process until you decide your belt is done.

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 8.02.07 PM

I wanted to make a symmetrical pattern, but you definitely don’t have to.  I made mine go:  brown, blue, tan, blue, brown.  But seriously feel free to do whatever you want!  That’s the fun in this project!

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 8.02.17 PM

Above is what the back of your belt should look like when it’s completed.  There will be little knots between each color, but it won’t show on the front.  Depending how quickly you wrap the thread and how many blocks you decide to do, this potentially could only take a half an hour.  I worked on mine during breaks between class, so it took much longer–but I promise, it is so simple.

I got it done in time for my Trend executive meeting and was able to rock it with some bold colors and lots of layers.

IMG_4543

IMG_4569
IMG_4559

IMG_4564

IMG_4571

Foster The People Tank, Forever 21 Military Jacket (2010), Francesca’s Moroccan Bubble Skirt–Similar via ASOS, Sweater tightsSimilar via Chinese Laundry, Liz&Co. Riding Boots–Similar via JCPenney, Target Bib Necklace, Top&Bottom Bracelets (Handmade by my roommate), BCBG wrap bracelet

The outfit and belt combination were a hit and I can’t wait to show it off more.  This was such an easy and quick project, I’m confident I’ll whip a few more up this spring.

Happy crafting!

xo,

kaylee.

Any thoughts?

