hot tamale.

IMG_5422

Happy March!

In all of my random health kicks that I’ve gone through in my life, this is the first one where I’ve seen results and felt great.  For me, it’s been pretty hard to do both.  I either am eating food that I dislike or I’m cutting out all of the food I enjoy in order to see minor results–and let me tell you, it is definitely not worth it.  At the beginning of this year I couldn’t decide on a New Year’s resolution.  In years past, I’ve put a lot of numbers on it, saying I want to lose 5 pounds or I need to workout at least 4 times each week.  You would think that numbers makes it more attainable, but in reality, I would fail miserably.  I would miss one workout and then stop altogether.  This year, I decided I wanted to make better decisions about my health.  I started using myfitnesspal to track what I eat and just pay attention to what I’m putting into my body (that’s what she said).  I wasn’t going into to it to lose a specific number, I just wanted to feel healthy and tone up.

And it worked.  I eat what I want.  I don’t rule out foods completely, I just portion them.  I don’t go hungry, and I’m only one pound away from where I want to be, and from there, I’ll just maintain.  I feel great, less tired, and I actually like my appearance, which isn’t a common occurrence for me.  When I feel this great, I feel more confident–and when I feel more confident, I take so many more fashion risks.  Why are the two correlated?  Well, I generally feel as though I wouldn’t be able to “pull off” a lot of looks, especially if I’m not feeling my best.  When I feel healthy and toned, I will wear just about anything, because I feel confident enough that I can make it work.  (Cue sparkly leggings, denim vests, crop tops, and short shorts!)

This weekend, I went back to my old hometown for my best friend’s 21st birthday.  We spent the day running errands and did a wee-bit-o-shopping before the birthday festivities.  There is a new store in Clinton called Cato.  I had heard of it before, but I had never shopped there.  Let me tell you–if you’re a broke fashionista like myself, this store is a Godsend.  Things got a little out of hand, and at one point I was just walking around the store in my socks, since I’d tried on so many pairs of shoes.  I managed to walk away with a stellar pair of cherry red high-waisted crops, a black drop necklace, and chocolate wedge booties for only $29.  Yes, you read that right–under $30 for shoes, pants, and a necklace.  Crazy.  Crazy exciting that is.  I’m most excited about the pant.  I haven’t worn red pants since I was a sophomore in high school, because I just couldn’t pull it off anymore–but I’ve been feeling good and the occasion struck (and by occasion, I mean Friday blog pictures…), so I went for it.

IMG_5409

 

IMG_5452

 

IMG_5441

 

IMG_5435

 

IMG_5477

 

Chambray (similar), Pant (similar), Shoes (similar), Belt (came with Old Navy shorts), Sunglasses (vintage store), Earrings (thrift store), Watch

Have you kept any of your resolutions??

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “hot tamale.

Any thoughts?

