seven-way chambray.

Fashion is an interesting concept.  It has so many dimensions and I am constantly learning new things from it.  And as silly as it sounds, by playing with fashion, I’ve learned a lot about myself.  As much as I love unique, statement-making pieces, I truly have the most fun with the staple items.  Denim jackets, dark wash skinny jeans, and crew neck cardigans can be worn in hundreds, even thousands, of different ways to make completely different looks.  I think if you’re able to figure out a way to wear an item for at least a week’s worth of outfits, that is considerably more impressive than buying a really expensive, one of a kind item that can only be worn in one way.

My current favorite staple is the chambray shirt, otherwise known as the denim shirt.  It’s not actually denim, and I could get into the technical details of why, but I’m not here to bore you.  I’ve been getting asked for the past few months, quite a bit actually, about how to wear this item–by both men and women.  I get so excited when people ask me how to go about wearing something, because it turns into a personal challenge–how many different ways can I work this to get completely different looks?  For the purposes of this post, and the fact that I did all of my outfit changes out of the back of my tiny Ford Focus, I stuck with seven outfits;  one for each day of the week.  But do not limit yourself.  I probably will have many more chambray-related posts to help the newbies that aren’t quite sure how to style it.  I’m really hoping to borrow a guy friend and do a post for men’s chambray shirts in the near future.

The Seven-Way Chambray

Geek Chic

One of my favorite ways to wear my chambray is what many would call “geek chic.”  I love pairing mine under my favorite studded, crew-neck cardigan with some dark wash denim.  It’s such a simple look, but it says so much. 
IMG_6086

Posh Professional

I recently discovered that chambray can easily be transitioned to the business setting with the help of a structured blazer and some cute colored crops.  Cuff the sleeves and you’re ready to roll.

IMG_6220

Crisp and Casual

As someone who used to fear the dreaded “denim tuxedo” look of denim on denim, I get it if you’re running for the door on this one.  I have learned to brush that rule aside and choose contrasting hues to really make a statement.  This look is ultra-casual, but fashion forward with a leopard belt and trendy riding boots.

IMG_6157

Grungy Glam

Try wearing it unbuttoned with the sleeves rolled up.  Throw on your favorite graphic tee, some bold leggings, and kick-ass buckled booties for a fearless femme fatale look that will catch everyone’s attention.

IMG_6203

Girly Gams

Show off those legs this spring by tucking your chambray into a pair of fun high-waisted shorts.  In the summer, I live in high-waisted shorts and I can’t wait to rock this look when we no longer have snow on the ground.  Accessorize this look with some girly accents.  I wore a patterned bow, drop earrings, cat-eye sunglasses, and linen TOMS.

IMG_6238

Rock n’ Rebel

Take cool to the next level by wearing a plaid button down under your chambray and throwing your favorite leather jacket on top.  This look is very eclectic and mis-matched, so I threw on some random bangles, a long necklace, aviators, and ankle boots to complete this badass ensemble.

IMG_6192

Fierce and Feminine

Tying my chambray up at the waist is my favorite thing to do right now.  Keep it classy with a high waisted, A-line skirt and some fun jewelry.  Slip into your favorite wedges and strut your stuff.

IMG_6255

How do you wear yours?  Let me know!

I jet off to New York City in the wee hours of the morning.  Next time you see me will likely be St. Patrick’s Day in Central Park.

Until then–

xo,

kaylee.

4 thoughts on “seven-way chambray.

Any thoughts?

