the red line.

Greetings from New York!

The week is officially half way over with only two full days to go!  Although we’ve only been here five days, it feels like so long ago since we left Iowa.  It’s been a crazy five days and I will give a little recap of my trip thus far:

Day 1:

We got into the city early on (due to our 3:30 AM bus and 6:30 flight), so we had the entire day to ourselves for exploring.  The weather was simply awful and it began to snow within a few hours.  We grabbed lunch at Freddie and Pepper’s Pizza on the Upper West Side near our hotel (delish–I highly recommend it!).  We then made an impulse stop at Crumbs bakery for some fantastic cupcakes.  Zach and I shared a peanut butter cup cupcake.  It was absolutely to die for.  We tried to watch the St. Patrick’s Day parade on 5th, but the snow picked up and we had to take refuge in H&M and Zara for most of it.  I really couldn’t complain too much though.  I did have to invest in a heavier coat than my denim jacket because of the ridiculous weather, and I managed to snatch up a boho-military inspired jacket from Zara for only $29.99 (originally $160!!).

Discoveries of Day 1:  Always listen to Mom when she tells you to bring a winter coat, hat, and gloves.  Whoops.

DSCN2331

Steph and I in Times Square.

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 11.26.38 PM

A shot Steph got of me heading to the subway for our first trip to Times Square.

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 11.26.56 PM

Me in Times Square!

DSCN2322

Zach and I with our delicious cupcake.

Zach and I with our delicious cupcake.

DSCN2382

And I forgot to mention the best part of my day–the naked cowboy picked me up in the middle of Times Square…and I slapped his butt.  I am not ashamed.

Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 6.49.03 PM

Day 2:

The second day was also to ourselves, so Stephanie and I went to Strawberry Fields in Central Park first thing in the morning.  I, being a huge Beatles fan, geeked out and took an insane amount of pictures.  It was absolutely freezing outside, but I had to bear through the wind and snow for a few shots.  I wore my brand-spankin-new Gap corduroy, emerald skinnies that I got the week before for only $5.97!  It was perfect for St. Patrick’s Day.  I paired it with a cute,sleeveless peplum I picked up at JCPenney and my glitter TOMS.  I probably should have thrown on a few more layers, but my resources were limited.  Afterward, we went to the American Museum of Natural History, which is where Night at the Museum takes place.  Then, we swung by New York’s oldest flea market and I bought some strawberry cookies from an adorable Austrian man.  That afternoon, we hit the Metropolitan Museum of Art after a very long and hilly walk across Central Park.  Once we got back to the hotel, I relaxed for a few hours before meeting up with my former modeling buddy, Kyle, in Times Square.  We did a hair show together my junior year of high school and have kept in touch ever since.  We were catching up over Facebook a few weeks ago and realized we’d be in NY at the same time, so we just had to meet up.  It was so great seeing him again and it felt like we never missed a beat.  It was an extremely long day, but completely worth it.

Discoveries of Day 2:  The Virgin Megastore no longer exists in Times Square.  We think it was replaced by the 24/7 Forever 21.  Bullshit.  Also, I’m capable of riding the subway by myself with only minor issues.  And I LOVE paninis.

DSCN2346

DSCN2349

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 11.40.57 PM

DSCN2352

American Museum of Natural History

Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 12.12.15 AM

Kyle and I modeling for Alterna in 2008.

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 11.41.29 PM

Kyle and I in Times Square five years later.

Day 3: 

This was our first day of appointments.  We started out at Marie Claire and got to tour the fashion closet.  It was a sweet building and location, but I realized the magazine world is not a place I’d necessarily want to work.  They really to seem to live to work rather than work to live, which really isn’t for me.  Afterward, we went to Women’s Wear Daily, Komar Intimates and Sequin LLC.  Komar surprised me and was my favorite of the day.  The owner, Charlie Komar, even stopped in and spoke with us for about fifteen minutes.  It was a great experience–especially since they provided soda and cookies.  Sequin was also very cool and gave us cupcakes–notice, I’m all about the food.  For those of you not familiar with Sequin, they have their own jewelry collection, in addition to licensing for Badgley Mischka, Chico’s, Express, and Target.  At the end of the appointment, we got to take a bangle with us!  It was super cool.  The snow greeted us after our last appointment, which sent us straight back to the hotel for the rest of the night.

Discoveries of Day 3:  The magazine world is definitely not for me.  The H&M in the garment district sucks.  As a starving student in New York, I sure take what I can get–I had three cookies, a cupcake, and two sodas between the last two appointments.  Mom, Dad–I’m getting my money’s worth!

Day 4: 

This was another long day of appointments, so I’ll just quickly recap.  We went to London Times (a women’s clothing showroom), the FIT Shoe Obsession museum, DesignWorks, and Tracy Reese.  Let’s just say it was a long day and I felt dizzy to begin with.  I’d say I was most impressed with DesignWorks.  They are a digital and printing design company that does a variety of work ranging from designing patterns for wallpapers to the products of the HGTV collection.  After our appointments we ran back to the hotel to scarf some food before going to see Wicked.  I’ve already seen Wicked.  A lot, actually.  So I wasn’t particularly excited–but as always, Wicked was fantastic.  It’s a good show, I just wish I could have seen something else.  The Fiyero and Elphaba were perhaps the best I’ve seen so far, but Boq was rather disappointing, since he is one of my favorite characters.  I, of course, left the show hot and bothered by Fiyero and feeling shallow as ever, wanting a sexy guy who likes me because I’m weird.  Sigh.

Discoveries of Day 4: The rain is just as bad as the snow.  Museums should be for leisure, not tours.  My stomach is a bottomless pit.

Amanda, Sara and I before Wicked.

Amanda, Sara and I before Wicked. The picture is terrible quality, I apologize.

Day 5:

Since we had a late night on Tuesday, our first appointment was at 10:30 at Barney’s.  It was very cool and luxurious, so I naturally felt out of place.  Our tour leader talked about the story women tell by the outfits they wear.  Then he asked me specifically what story I was trying to tell when I got dressed this morning.  Caught off-guard, my answer was along the lines of “Uhhh, well, I didn’t want to freeze any body parts off, hence why I’m wearing this leather jacket.  I wanted to be warm and able to walk around all day.  My story is that in the city, fashion follows function.”  I wasn’t about to start listing off the designers I was wearing and how that makes me so sophisticated like everyone else.  He was impressed by me later since I was the only one consistently answering questions correctly, and he ended up letting me try on a $3,500 blazer.  So it all worked out in the end.  After Barney’s, we went to Payless’ Design Studio, followed by the Marc Jacobs showroom.  Marc Jacobs was very cool and all, but not for me.  We spent the rest of the afternoon shopping in SoHo, and eventually getting lost in Little Italy and Chinatown.  Three subways later, we made it back to our hotel, just in time for me to start my mid-point blog post.

Discoveries of Day 5:  SoHo is a little sketchy at night–as is Little Italy and Chinatown.  The green line is scary, but the yellow and red are the nicest.  Topshop is ridiculously expensive and not all it’s cracked up to be.  There are NO bathrooms in SoHo and NO Starbucks in the Flatiron District.

My buys over the week.  I think I kind of like peach. Kind of.

My buys over the week. I think I kind of like peach. Kind of.

Socks (Topshop; 3 for $15), Blouse (H&M), Bangles (Sequin; gift), Sunglasses (Forever21), Necklace (Buffalo).

It’s way past my bedtime and I plan to explore in the morning before our first appointment.  When I get back, I’ll be sure to do an overview of the last half of my trip!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

2 thoughts on “the red line.

  1. I heard you being mistaken for part of the fashion press in the MET, this should definitely be included as a plus on this blog which I LOVE. Really informative and insightful. Oh how the other half live!

Any thoughts?

