i’m an adult.

Forgive me for the lengthy time lapse since my last post.  Since the end of the semester is here and finals are approaching, I am extremely busy.  I apologize if the posts slow over the next few weeks.  Last week was my birthday and I had an absolutely awesome week.  So awesome, in fact, that I’m dedicating an entire post specifically to its awesomeness.

For those of you who don’t know me particularly well, when it’s my birthday, I celebrate my entire birthday week.  I did something everyday, even if its as small as eating a bowl of ice cream that I really shouldn’t have.  I started out my birthday week by getting my cartilage pierced.  I’ve been wanting to for weeks and I finally sucked it up and went.  My friend Emily went with, so we’re going through it together, which is super nice for the days that we’re insanely paranoid it’s infected and about to fall off.  I also bought a One Direction tee that day.  I know, I’m a total geek.

Photo on 2013-04-06 at 22.55 #7

 

It hurt for awhile, but now I’m loving it–especially with my short hair.  Later in the week, Kayla and I made cookie dough cheesecakes.  And yes–I actually helped.  I’m pretty much a modern day Betty Crocker.  That is just a delicious, fatty, creamy gift within itself.  Plus, my mom made the same thing when I came home for the weekend.  Delish.

DSCN2388

 

They may not look spectacular, but I’m telling you, I almost died.  After I took a bite, I said, “Wow. This sucks.  There is literally nothing to look forward to in life now.  This is as good as it gets.”  I still stand by my statement.

On my actual birthday, I had no classes, so I figured I’d get extremely bored.  Emily and I did an Insanity video in the morning (worst idea ever), then I took my time getting ready.  My only plans were going to dinner with a few of my friends at Buffalo Wild Wings that night.  Around noon, my friend Mary surprised me at my apartment with Coldstone Cupcakes.  Again, I almost died.  First of all, I love surprises.  I never get surprises.  I’m pretty confident I am the only one of my friends from high school that never had a surprise party.  So a surprise lunchtime visit is exciting in itself, but when you throw in the most divine cupcakes in the world, you’ve got yourself a real party.  A few hours later I had flowers delivered.  I never get flowers.  Outside of plays and dance recitals, I’ve only gotten flowers once before.  So needless to say, I was outrageously excited.  And to make it even better, they weren’t from my parents either.

A few hours after that, I skyped with my sister since I wouldn’t get to see her on my actual birthday.  While we were skyping, I got a call from my best friend from high school, Sarah.  I let my sister go, I was talking to Sarah, and after about 30 seconds I turned around and she was standing in my room.  I’m not really sure what I did, it all happened so fast.  It was probably a combination of profanity, word vomit, and screaming.  Moral of the story:  she drove 3 hours to surprise me on my birthday and it was seriously the best gift of all.  I only see her a few times a year, so we definitely made the most of our time.

Photo on 2013-04-11 at 16.33

After I calmed down from all of the surprises and excitement, we went to dinner.  It was so great to have all of my friends in one place.  It was also great/weird to be able to actually order a fancy drink.  I swear I’ve been looking at that drink menu since I was 15 since the drinks looked so damn delicious.  It wasn’t even the alcohol I was excited for.  I just wanted the pretty drink in the fancy glass.  Is that too much to ask?

DSCN2392

Mary and myself.

 

After dinner, my roommates, Sarah, and I went to Old Main, which is a bar/restaurant.  Again, I still did not feel old enough to order my own drinks.  It’s just peculiar.  I am not grown up enough, I swear.

The next day, I went to Davenport to celebrate with my sisters.  We went to a martini bar called ICONS in Rock Island.  They always go there whenever Mal and I visit and I’ve always had to stay at Steph’s house by myself.  I was super amped to get all dressed up and go to a classy bar.  It was so fun to just relax and hang out the three of us.  The drinks were pretty delicious too.  I had one called a salted nut roll that was absolutely to die for.

DSCN2411

 

DSCN2414

 

me with my salted nut roll martini.

me with my salted nut roll martini.

The next day, we all went home to Danville to celebrate with my parents.  Mal and I got our hair done, which ended up being my final birthday gift to myself.  The best part?  Putting a chunk of blonde in my hair was only $5.  Insane.  I’m totally putting more colors in when I go home in a few weeks!

Photo on 2013-04-13 at 15.57It was a great week and I am so happy I was able to spend it with so many friends and family members.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “i’m an adult.

Any thoughts?

