sweet, sweet summertime.

It’s over.  It’s finally over.

Now I can breathe.  Well, for the next twenty days at least.  I’m finally done with finals and moved back home.  I’m about half way done with unpacking, but I’m dragging…a lot.  It’s hard to unpack knowing that I’ll just be repacking in two weeks.  Although it’s nice to actually relax for once and not have to worry about classes, work, finals, writing, and everything else.

I haven’t had much time to do anything too crazy since I’ve been home.  But, this weekend was my dad’s birthday and mother’s day, so Mal and Steph were able to both come home to celebrate.  This naturally involved a combination of boardgames and Buffalo Wild Wings.

Screen shot 2013-05-14 at 2.47.07 PM

Me, Garbear, Mal, and Steph with our Bdubs!

 

Screen shot 2013-05-14 at 2.47.19 PM

Mother’s Day!

Oh, and I colored and cut my hair today.  I was starting to grow a serious mullet and it just had to go.  I got the back trimmed up, so now my hair is looking more like a bob and less like a pixie.  I also lightened up the blonde chunk and got a little crazy with color…

Photo on 2013-05-14 at 12.16

top view.

front view

front view

There has been a pretty substantial lapse since my last post.  I really don’t have an excuse other than life happened.  I guess that was one of my goals for 2013 though, I really wanted to participate in life more.  Be more social.  Don’t let it all pass me by.  It was a great semester.  I don’t regret anything or the time I spent with others.  Although, you could say it had a drawback or two.

It’s been awhile since I first laid out my goals for the school year.  I had a few updates along the road, but it’s been several months since I last visited them.

1.  Keep my 4.0 GPA average.

Yikes.  Well, I kind of dropped the ball already.  My official grades will be posted online tomorrow for the semester.  I did manage to keep my 4.0 for the fall semester, but I already know I didn’t this semester.  After a substantial amount of backlash from my New York post leading to many peers emailing it to my advisor, I already knew I had lost it.  Even though it was opinion-based and I remained vague, but genuinely honest, I knew I’d lose all of my professionalism points for the field study.  I still am unsure about my grade for that course, but shockingly, it was another course that brought me down.  For my film class that I’m taking for my journalism minor, we don’t have a Blackboard like most of my other courses.  After our final on Wednesday, he emailed us our test scores and final grades.  I wasn’t the least bit concerned about this class, since I had received an A+ on each of my film reviews and on my final term paper.  I also had received 97% or higher on the previous two exams.  Well, he decided to test us on a lot of material he never covered in class that was specifically from the book, which he had never done before.  Needless to say, I didn’t do so hot on the final exam, which ultimately resulted in an A- in the class.  I know what you’re thinking.  An A-?  Seriously, shut up already.  An A- is good.  I know.  It’s fine.  But I haven’t had anything less than an A since the 7th grade.  It’s hard to let go.

2.  Get an excellent internship.

Check!  I’m moving out to Madison on June 1st and I start at Lands’ End on June 3rd!  I’ll be there for 12 weeks interning in their mens department.  I am unbelievably stoked/nervous/jittery/excited/anxious for this whole ordeal to begin.  Fingers crossed that the experience is positive and I get a lot out of it!

3.  Stay in shape.

Eh, I didn’t do too bad on this one.  I started using myfitnesspal at the beginning of January to just pay attention to what I’m eating and putting into my body.  I was shocked at how well it worked at first.  Just by tracking what I was doing, I was slimming down much quicker than I ever have before.  I was continuing to work out at least twice each week, and was toning up pretty quickly.  Then New York happened.  I gained back just about everything that I had  lost–in only a week.  Yikes.  It’s been hard to get back on track again, but I’ve been doing well.  I’m pretty much just trying to maintain where I am and remain healthy.  I haven’t used myfitnesspal in about three weeks, but I’m planning to start again just to stay on track.  But otherwise, I’m doing well and I feel great.

4.  I want to be better with my money.

Wow, well I’m not going to dwell on this a lot.  Let’s just say it’s pretty hard to be a social college student and not spend any money.  I now realize why I was so much better with money my freshman and sophomore years of college–because I had no friends.  Seriously.  Or the friends I did have, we didn’t actually hang out outside of class.  Catching up with friends when you’re broke is tough, since your options are grabbing coffee or grabbing dinner.  It also really didn’t help my cause that I only had about ten shifts from January to mid-April.  I’m planning to budget out my summer since I’ll be working at my big girl internship and making something more than minimum wage.  I have the right intentions, but it’s just hard being a college student.

In other news, since I started unpacking, I’ve been getting rid of a lot of clothes.  I mean, a lot.  I already have two totes filled with clothes and shoes that I decided I just don’t need anymore.  But I’ve found it really hard to part with certain items that don’t necessarily fit me anymore.  So I began to alter.  And repurpose.  So far, I’ve fixed my favorite Lauren Conrad dress and turned my retro flare jeans into some super skinnies.  Since I have the next two and a half weeks free, I’m planning to do a few DIYs or maybe a sewing project of some sort.  So stay tuned :)

Until next time (which should be sooner than last time)–

xo,

kaylee.

Any thoughts?

