new beginnings.

Today is my first day living in Madison.  Oh what a day it’s been.

I’m finally unpacked and settled into my new apartment and I love it.  My room is twice the size as my room at school and I have a walk-in closet.  What more can a girl ask for?  My internship starts on Monday and I’m getting quite anxious.  When my parents and I drove up to Madison today to move me, we stopped for lunch in Dodgeville, which is where I’ll be interning.  We found Lands’ End and I got to see which building I’ll be in, so I’m not quite as nervous about finding it for my first day.  One less thing to worry about!

I haven’t been to Madison since I was very little, so it’s pretty foreign to me.  It’s also the biggest city I’ve ever lived in, so it’s going to be quite an adjustment.  Today was such a long and exhausting day, full of lessons learned and a few surprises.

Day 1 Takeaways

*I’m convinced there are no straight roads in Madison.  It is not set up like a grid with parallel and perpendicular streets.  Everything is winding in circles and it is impossible to figure out.  And since I get my sense of direction from my mother, I’m screwed. (Sorry, Mom!)

*The only store I managed to find today is Target.  It took 20 minutes to get there and it’s only 2.5 miles away.  AKA-again, I’m screwed.

*Speaking of Target, ours is two stories complete with an escalator, elevator, and parking ramp.  WHAT!

*Madison’s tagline should be “Madison, The City of Bicyclists”, because they’re everywhere.  Everywhere.  Don’t be surprised when you see my name in the paper, “Well-dressed woman takes down 4 pulling out of parking spot.”

*Wisconsin men are substantially more attractive as a whole than Iowa men.  Fellow Iowa girls, we’ve been missing out.  Even the guys that work at Target are more attractive, have more tattoos, and are better dressed.  And if he can make a red tee and khakis somehow look good, marry that man.

*They have Kwik Star in Wisconsin.  I totally forgot. Boom.

*Now that I have to pay for utilities for the first time in my life, I am the electricity Nazi.  Nothing is plugged in. I ate dinner in darkness.  I’ve peed in the dark.  And now I sit here typing this in darkness.

*I learned what Camp Randall is.

Now for a few pictures of my new home.

DSCN3569

living room.

bedroom.

bedroom.

huge closet.

huge closet.

balcony.

balcony.

the view; that's Camp Randall on the right!

the view; that’s Camp Randall on the right!

So my blog is taking a slight turn this summer.  Since I’ll be busy interning and I have no sewing machine here, my posts will be more life-centric.  I’ll share my ups, downs, and everything in between dealing with life as a fashion intern and living in a new city.  I still may get in the occasional DIY, but for the most part, I’ll be using this as somewhat of a journal.  It’s going to be an exciting summer with a lot of new experiences.  Hopefully you continue to read and follow my new journey.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

2 thoughts on “new beginnings.

  1. Good luck with the internship! Learn as much as you can! :D LOL, and enjoy being back in the midwest. It may not be as glam as NYC, but it is so much more down to earth – which is often equally as refreshing.

Any thoughts?

