blogiversary.

Holy cow.  I can’t believe I started this crazy business one year ago.  So much has changed.  For the better, of course.

When I started this blog, I did it as a way for my family and close friends to keep track of what I’m up to with my latest sewing and design adventures.  I figured I’d read it.  My mom would read it.  I could maybe force a few friends to read it every month or so.  I had no idea what it would grow into.  Over 4500 views, a facebook page, and many new blogger friends later, pleatsandpearls has grown into a fashion, DIY, and lifestyle blog.  I really like what it’s become because it’s not exclusively one thing.  It’s not only crafts.  It’s not only fashion–which I was nervous about infusing into my blog in the first place.  I was really afraid it would be a whole “Look at me! Look how good I dress! Here’s how to look like me!” type of thing–and that’s not what I wanted at all.  So I infuse my life.  My ups, downs, friendships, goofy stories, and even my failures.  I’m quirky and weird, and most importantly, honest, and it means so much to me that even one person out there would care to read this.  I do this for fun, and I intend to keep it that way.

So much has occurred in the past year–all of which has been featured on my blog.  I chopped my hair off.  I made several dresses.  I finished my junior year of college.  I did my first fashion post.  I started writing for ISDstyle.  I become an editor for Trend.  And I got my internship, after a much-talked-about hunt, at Lands’ End.  If you’ve been following me from the beginning, you’ll see how much everything has changed.  It’s crazy.  It’s almost like a journal for me–I can look back at it one day and remember what I was doing when I was 20, young, and in college.

So, to celebrate my one year blogiversary, I’ve decided that I want to go back and pick out some of my favorite posts and my most popular posts–so if you’re a new reader, you can get a good sampling of who I am and what pleatsandpearls is.  I also decided that I wanted to make my most important (in my opinion) post visible again.  It was controversial, so it went private for awhile until the semester was over and it blew over.  But that post was a pivotal moment for me.  I was 100% honest and I received great (and not so great) feedback from it.  Even though I got a lot of backlash, I learned to stay true to myself and I think that’s a very important lesson for everyone.  So here you go–

Most Controversial

The Big Apple; What I Really Thought

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 11.26.56 PM

Most Popular DIY

Hippie Love: DIY headband

Braiding

Favorite DIY

wired in.

IMG_4254

Most Popular Project

adaptation.

DSCN2096

Favorite Project

capetastical

DSCN2552

Most Popular Fashion

secret admirer

IMG_6506

Favorite Fashion

punk in poppy.

IMG_7430

The One That Started It All

so it begins…

DSCN1959

Well hopefully I haven’t bored you too much.  Thanks for the support–friends, family, and friendly strangers!

I better get back to my pizza–Kast and I ordered Pizza Hut as a roommate bonding dinner.  After two trips to Pizza Hut and a messed up order, we now have six pizzas and 3 sets of breadsticks…

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Any thoughts?

