the city of four lakes.

Hello again.

I have been very busy since you last heard from me.  Gosh, in the last week alone I’ve gone to nearly twenty meetings, attended about a dozen water parties, bought my first Lands’ End items, and chopped down a forest.  (But seriously…)

Me in my first LE Canvas dress!

Me in my first LE Canvas dress!

I feel like so much has changed, yet the basics are the same:

I still have no idea where I’m going in Madison–

and

I love my internship.

Same old, same old.

I’ve learned so much in the past three weeks–arguably more than I have in the past three years of college.  Not sure if that’s a fantastic reflection on Lands’ End or a poor reflection on public universities (or a little of both), but nevertheless, I’m learning things.  I’m starting to warm up to Wisconsin a bit more with each day I spend here, but there are still plenty of things that I just don’t like.  And since I’m using my blog this summer as more of a diary of sorts, I’m going to list out what I like and don’t like and look back on it at the end of the summer and see how much it changes.

Madison Likes

*I love my [penthouse] apartment–and my living situation in general.  Living with a guy is just stellar.  It’s so laid-back and low maintenance.  All we do is drink Capri Suns and watch The Bachelorette (Ben can go home already.  Michael G. too.).  Can life get better than this?

*We also have a bitchin view.  It’s just pretty here in general.

*They have a big mall with an H&M and gelato.

*Panera is two blocks away.

*Wisconsin men are much more attractive than Iowa men.

Madison Dislikes

*The bicyclists/pedestrians and the crazy drivers.

*The traffic.  And you have to do at least one U-turn to get ANYWHERE.

*The fact that a trip to Target is about an hour round trip because of traffic.  And our Target is massive.

*Parking sucks.

*I’m always lost, so I’m not comfortable going on walks or runs around my apartment.

*The Pizza Hut can’t be trusted.

*My lack of friends.

*You can’t buy alcohol after 9.  Not even wine coolers, which are like .000001% alcohol.  Ridiculous.

 

Internship Likes

*I love my team.  They’re the best.  Seriously could not have been luckier.

*I love the LE campus.  It’s just such an open, friendly environment.

*I’m actually getting to do hands-on things.  I’m not getting people coffee and making copies.  Hell, Eric bought me coffee last week.  I’m getting to see product, sit in on important meetings, give input, and do projects that are actually applicable to the business.

*Outside of my team, everyone is also great.  For my first project, I just have to familiarize myself with the company and its various divisions.  This has required me to go around and talk to a lot of people, some of them being very high up.  And it doesn’t matter what level they’re at, everyone is just so friendly and helpful.  Say all you want about Wisconsin, but Midwest folks are the nicest around.

*The days fly by because I love what I do–which is a great feeling, considering my biggest fear going into this was that I’d hate merchandising.  Yes, it’s still early on, but I already know that Lands’ End is where I want to be after I graduate.

Internship Dislikes

*The drive.  I’m pretty poor right now since I haven’t gotten paid yet and that drive is sucking my bank account dry.  I also get easily bored of my music and have to change CDs everyday, but this is seriously the only downfall.

* * *

There is still so much left I want to do while I’m here, and so little time to explore.  I am now at the end of my third week of my twelve week internship.  I am 25% done.  That is just such a terrifying/saddening thought.  I don’t want to be done.  I don’t want to leave this company or these people that make work so enjoyable everyday.  I have nine weeks left to leave my mark at Lands’ End.  I have nine weeks left to explore Madison.  I have nine weeks left of my final summer as a college student.

I feel lazy sitting on my couch as I say that, so I better get up and do something.  And as always, I’ll keep you all updated every step of the way.

Until next time-

xo,

kaylee.

 

Any thoughts?

