the one with the cooking.

Happy Sunday!

I had a fantastic weekend!  Mallory and Stephanie visited me in Madison yesterday.  We crammed about a week’s worth of activities into 24 hours, but it was totally worth it.  We went to the farmer’s market by the Capitol and then ate lunch at The Old Fashioned on the square.  It was a long wait, but again, totally worth it.  They–I kid you not–have the world’s best cheese curds.  Ever.  And I’m a bit of a cheese curd connoisseur, so you know it’s legit.

969895_701041006804_1908436513_n

After lunch, we went to the Henry Vilas Zoo, which is not even a mile down the street from me.  Since we had so many activities to do in such a short amount of time, I proposed the idea of speed-zooing.  Which is kind of like speed-dating, except with a zoo, and the fact that it’s nothing like speed-dating.  I was the official Zoo Nazi and sped things along.  Pretty sure it took us an hour to make it through the entire zoo.  I’m that good.  Professional almost.

1010841_700950373434_538885614_n

DSCN2504

DSCN2505

DSCN2498

DSCN2507

After the zoo, we went to my fancy Target and picked up cupcakes from Gigi’s.  We ran to the mall (which was a total bust) and then came back to cook dinner.  We made barbecue chicken calzones.  And by we, I mean Steph made them, and I ruined the only steps I was in charge of.  Then we watched our favorite episodes of The Office on Netflix (Hello, Stress Relief and The Injury) before falling asleep at an embarrassing 11:00.  In our defense, it was a very eventful day, spent walking outside in the sun.  Speaking of the sun, this weekend it fancied me quite a bit and left me with quite the cherry-red shoulders.  Thanks…

1011937_701040936944_944126209_n

This morning, Steph and I walked over to Greenbush to get the most delicious maple donuts and the nice lady gave us a third for free!  Best weekend ever?  I’m thinking so.

So after a lot of extremely delicious food this weekend, I decided I better work some of it off with a nice walk around Madison.  It’s about 90 degrees out today, and I walked all the way down to a lake.  Not really sure how far it was, but it had to have been over two miles there and back, since it’s a considerable amount past the Capitol.  As usual, after my sweaty outdoor workout, I felt the need to have a protein-packed healthy dinner.  Let me preface this by saying that I am not a good cook.  (See above.) Nothing ever turns out the way it should.  I’m not patient.  I never have the ingredients.  And let’s be honest, it is a heck of a lot easier to warm up some pre-packaged soup and call it a day.

So I began to peruse pinterest, just like any other day that I’m absolutely starving for something other than a bowl of cereal.  I happened to stumble across some sort of egg/turkey/muffin creation, but naturally, it had no source link, so I decided to make up my own version.  Surprisingly enough, it turned out great and was super delicious!

I guess I’ll call these Baked Egg Cupcakes, because that’s what they look like.  So here goes:

Baked Egg Cupcakes

-Deli meat slices (I used Oscar Mayer chicken)

-1 egg (per cupcake)

-Shredded parmesan cheese

-Pepper

DSCN3903

You can hardly call this cooking, because it is just so fool-proof that even I could figure it out.

Just take a couple of slices of the deli meat and line the muffin tin.  Crack one egg into the “cupcake liner”.  Top with a pinch of shredded parmesan cheese and a dash of pepper for taste.  Put them in the oven for 20 minutes at 375°.  Done and done.

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 8.15.26 PM

DSCN3916

They were super delicious and oh-so easy!  I think they’d be even better with some chopped up onion and green pepper mixed in.

Who knows how long my cooking kick will last?  I guess the better question is, how long will I have time for it?  I’m not really sure, but I do know that I’ll be sharing all of my mishaps with all of you.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “the one with the cooking.

Any thoughts?

