hitting the books.

I think I’ll go with the cliché opening on this one:  Thank God it’s Friday.

At 4 pm today, my last first week is finally over.  It’s hard to believe that just a week ago, I was packing up my desk at Lands’ End.  I know that sounds a bit melodramatic, because in theory, a week is not very long.  But, if you think about everything that has happened in the last seven days, it seems like forever.  I’ve moved twice, gone to class 14 times, planned my Halloween costume (oh, get ready…), taken 4 quizzes, read 10 chapters, walked to campus and back 13 times, consumed 7 star crunches, and dodged multiple people around Ames.

As you’ve likely gathered, I started my final semester of college this Monday.  It’s been a week of ridiculous expectations and feigning excitement and remote interest.  I think it’s pretty clear that I don’t want to be here–in Ames or in college.  I know, I know–I have the rest of my life to work, so enjoy school while I’m still in it.  But honestly, I hate school.  I truly do.  I’m good at school–no, actually, I’m pretty great at school.  But that’s because I’ve had no next to no life.  The only thing that rules my life more than fashion is the fact that I’m such a perfectionist, which makes school such a nightmare.  Work was relaxing in comparison to college.  I just can’t wait to get my life started.  But until then, I’ll put on this face and work my way through…

firstdayofschool

Yupp, that’s me.  And here is me featured on the Trend Magazine facebook page for first day of school fashion.  (Although, you can hardly call denim on denim on denim fashion.  More like a heat stroke in this 100° weather waiting to happen.)

Screen shot 2013-08-30 at 12.09.11 PM

My roommate, Emily had the same idea.

Screen shot 2013-08-26 at 10.30.16 AM

Sleeveless chambray is clearly the way to go this summer.  Well, since I’m back to school and in more of a routine, I kind of wanted to refocus my blog back to DIYs and occasional fashion fixes.  If you have any DIY or how-to-wear requests, throw them at me.  I love getting ideas!  I’m hoping to get something new up on a weekly basis.  It definitely won’t be as often as I might have in past semesters.  Keep in mind, I am taking 19 credits, being a TA, and working.  I’ll do my best. :)

As for fashion, I collected quite the selection of new pieces over the summer and I can’t wait to show off my insane bargains.  Once the weather cools down a bit, I’ll be sure to get the ball rolling for the semester.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Any thoughts?

