smells like cyclone spirit.

Hey folks!

Just coming off a fantastic weekend at home, I am finally back to being in a good mood.  I hadn’t been home in two months, so it was great to be home [and play with my kitties the whole time].  I finally had the chance to go to the fabric store.  It was well overdue and needless to say, I went a little crazy with project ideas.  They had a ton of sale fabric, so of course, the possibilities were endless.  In the end, I did pretty well and made it out with a cute striped knit remnant for $1.75 that I made into an infinity scarf and a dark grey jersey for $3.

This summer, my roommate convinced me to buy season tickets with her for the Cyclone football games.  I’ve never been to a football game since I started college, so to jump the gun and buy season tickets–well, is a little odd for someone like me.  Of all the things to think about dealing with the football season and tailgating, my first thought naturally was, “What in the world am I going to wear?”  I own one ISU hoodie, one ISU thermal, and one very large ISU tee shirt.  Since the majority of the games will be hot out, that clearly ruled out option 1 and 2, leaving me with option 3:  the t-shirt.  I don’t even bring that tee to school with me since it’s so big on me.  But I figured I could do something with it to make it cuter and fitting for the football season. *Cue scissors and cute jersey fabric.*

Screen shot 2013-09-01 at 8.37.58 PM

Tada!  I turned my oversized tee into a cute gameday tank!  The best part?  It took fifteen minutes.  You’re welcome.

Here’s what you’ll need:

DSCN0173

-t-shirt

-1/8 or 1/16 yd of fabric of your choosing (jersey worked well for me!)

-fabric scissors

-pins

-sewing machine

optional: safety pin

Okie dokie, let’s get cracking.  Start by cutting your sleeves off.  Then, cut across the top in a straight line under the neckline.

DSCN0176

DSCN0177

Now, fold under the top edges about an inch or so (depending how thick your fabric for the neck is).  Pin it down.  Repeat this on the backside.

DSCN0180

Sew across on front and back.  Next, attach that safety pin to the edge of the fabric that you’re using for the neck.  Just like you’d do when inserting elastic, thread it through.

DSCN0188

Pull the end through far enough that you will be able to make a bow, then with the opposite end, thread it through the back.  From here, I had to put the shirt on to adjust how much I needed for my shoulders and to make the remaining ends even.  On the front side below the shoulder, tightly tie your bow.

That’s it.  It’s really that easy.

DSCN0195

 

DSCN0197_2

 

DSCN0199

Go ahead– Root for your team.  Look fabulous.  Enjoy.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Any thoughts?

