pre-season transition.

Hey Midwesterners!

I’m in a particularly good mood this week.  Why might you ask?  I mean, it’s the second week of school, I’ve done a disgusting amount of reading, and I have to work everyday this weekend.  Not much to be happy about–except, pre-fall has officially begun.  For me, fall begins when Starbucks brings back pumpkin spice.  So officially, fall began last Saturday.

Photo on 2013-08-31 at 09.29

This week also cooled down a bit, which isn’t necessarily saying much since last week was 100°+ everyday.  It’s been steadily in the 80s this week, but the mornings have been sitting around 60.  And for me, 60 is fall, so I’ve been taking full advantage.

Since for most of September the temperature fluctuates by 30-40° throughout the day, it can be difficult dressing for this pre-fall season transition of sorts.  Fortunately, I love a good challenge and that’s why I love the fall.  I rely heavily on layering and balancing my outfits.  By balancing, I’m referring to wearing items that typically wouldn’t be worn together, such as a sweater with shorts or a racer-back tank with skinny jeans.  In other words, covering one half of your body, to keep yourself relatively warm when it’s cooler in the mornings, but leaving enough exposed that you won’t die of heat stroke when it hits 85° that afternoon.  If you love fall as much as I do, keep an eye out for my upcoming post on essentials items for fall!

Fresh off of the holiday weekend, I hit the campus in full swing for fall.  I layered up for an ultra casual look that’s a solid mix of edge and sophistication.

DSCN4199

DSCN4204

DSCN4205

DSCN4208

DSCN4214

Brianna, my unofficial photographer for the semester! Love her!

DSCN4209My fabulous roommate, Emily.  Aren’t you loving her fresh blonde locks and her chic Lands’ End shirtdress?

DSCN4200

Foster The People Tank, Zara Jacket (similar), Gap Skinny Jeans, Gap Ankle Boots (similar), Target Satchel (similar), Fossil Watch (similar), Madewell Ring, Scarves (made), Warby Parker Frames.

How are you transitioning your wardrobe this fall? I’d love to hear tips and tricks you use!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.S

Any thoughts?

