unplugged

Hello friends and followers!

I’m doing a little experiment.  Hear me out.

In my media ethics class, we often talk about technology and its power.  How technology controls us, and we don’t control it.   How our lives are so much more complicated due to technology and its distractions and issues it can bring.  We are so dependent on it and it’s almost as if we need it to survive socially.  Personally, I’ve been someone who despises social media since people use it as their number one form of communication.  I mean, hell, I’ve been broken up with over Facebook.  Facebook. Outrageous right?

This isn’t meant to be a bashing fest on people misusing social media, but more of a personal experiment.  Although I’m not as reliant on it as most, since I don’t have a smartphone, I spend a great deal of time on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.  I want to prove to myself that my relationships with others are real, and not reliant on a social network.

The next few weeks are going to be rough.  This upcoming Friday is what I like to call the perfect storm:  three major projects worth over 250+ points are all due for the same class.  That isn’t even factoring in my other 5 classes.  This October will arguably be the roughest month of my college experience, so I’m making an attempt to lighten the load.

Goodbye social media.

That’s right.  My roommate Emily and I decided to go unplugged, together.  We changed each other’s Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest passwords.  I will go at least this week without access to any social media.  I may go next week as well, depending how this little experiment pans out.  I will be sure to have a nice update on how this works out in the end.  I’m actually quite excited.  If you’re wondering why I’m not cutting out my computer altogether, Emily and I actually discussed this.  In college nowadays, a student would fail without the internet.  It’s where we take quizzes, exams, do learning activities, discussions, and check our grades.  Social media will do for now.

Wish me luck.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “unplugged

Any thoughts?

