the casual cable.

Hey folks–

It’s good to be back.  After six days of going “unplugged”, I’m happy to say I made it through with minimum distraction and a whole lot of productivity.  I’ll do a quick little recap of what I learned before jumping into the good stuff.

Unplugged

If you didn’t read my last post, I’ll quickly catch you up.  Due to an insanely busy schedule this past week and sheer curiosity, I decided to go unplugged for the past six days.  I, of course, could not go completely unplugged since I rely on the internet for most of my class assignments.  I also kept my phone since it’s not a smartphone and I had two phone interviews this week (And can we take a second to do a fist pump for that?).  My roommate and I switched each other’s passwords for Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest on Sunday morning and we’ll change them back after class is over today at 4:00 PM.

The Verdict

It actually wasn’t that bad.  Seriously.  I actually would encourage all college students to try it out for a week.  It’s amazing the things you get done when you’re not worried about how many likes you’re getting on your clever new status.  The first two days were definitely the most rough.  I even bribed Emily by buying her Dairy Queen in exchange for 20 minutes of Facebook time.  Pathetic, right?  I didn’t end up using the time for the record.  I had a little more dignity than that.  I found myself being bored after writing a paper in half the time I allotted for it.  Bored. Crazy, right?  I don’t think I’ve been bored since college began.  It is unbelievable the things we’re capable of when we eliminate distractions.  I had to eventually get my Pinterest password back since one of my classes has been requiring us to create Pinterest boards and send the link to our professor as a group project.  So I feel like that was a legitimate excuse.  It got easier throughout the week, and honestly, the idea of spending that much time on Facebook began to feel silly.  It was truly eye-opening.  Yes, when I get my password back, I’ll definitely be hopping on Facebook.  It is a great way to stay connected with those who live far away.  But it’s not a necessity.  I won’t rely on it nearly as much as I did before.  I won’t check it as often.  Because in the end, social networks are superficial.  They don’t create relationships.  The true relationships stay intact even when you abandon that network.

Fashion Fix

With all of that extra time I created this week, I did get the chance to snap a few blog pictures in between classes.  Gap recently had a whole-house online sale of 35% off, plus I had $10 in Gap rewards.  Pretty nifty, eh?  So I hopped online to get some fall-friendly gear and managed to come out with a light wash chambray western button-down and a charcoal cable crew sweater for only $37 total.  Not too shabby considering the sweater alone costs $44.95.  I naturally had to show it off the minute I ripped it from the mail.  This week, I livened it up with a punch of pink and some TOMS.

DSCN4542

DSCN4544

DSCN4545

DSCN4549

DSCN4550

Gap Cable Pullover | Lands’ End Canvas Shorts | Metallic Linen TOMS | Target Shoulder Bag | Warby Parker Sinclair Frames | DIY Love Necklace

What items are you most excited to break out for this fall?

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

facebook | pinterest | twitter

Any thoughts?

