the last six weeks.

DSCN4907

Hey friends, family, and followers!

This semester has been an absolute whirlwind.  Although the beginning of the semester feels like forever ago, I can’t believe I’m in week 11 of my final semester.  That’s only five more weeks of class and a week of finals.  I can’t believe how fast it’s gone.  It’s kind of scary when I really think about it.  As the end of my life as a student comes to a close, I can’t help but feel a little sad/stressed/scared/anxious.  I’ve been wanting to be done for so long, but it’s becoming more real everyday that I come closer to graduation.  I’m so busy right now I don’t have time to work much, so I have literally no money.  Which makes me even more anxious to land a big girl job–which I haven’t yet.  The idea of moving back home terrifies me and I’m just hoping some magic happens in the next two months.  On the other hand, there are a handful of people I’m going to miss dearly when I leave Ames.  Goodbyes are the worst, especially when you don’t know when you’ll get to say hello again.

So what am I doing with these last six weeks?  Filling them.  With everything.  I have something going on every single weekend until graduation – scary, right?  Time is flying.  This past weekend I road tripped with my roommate Emily out to Kansas State in Manhattan, KS.  Iowa State played K-State this past Saturday, so we drove out and stayed with one of her friends.  This was also especially convenient for me since my friend Lauren from my internship goes to K-State, so I got to pay her a visit.  It was so awesome getting to catch up with her.  It made me miss Lands’ End even more.  Overall, it was a super fun/exhausting weekend and a great way to kick off my last six weeks.

Lauren and I reunited.

Lauren and I reunited.

Emily and I.

Emily and I.

At the beginning of the semester, I made a list of all of the things I wanted to do before I graduated.  I’m only about half way done with it (yikes!), but I was able to cross off one of the items recently:  Have a DIY Day.  Although I would never have enough time to spare for an entire day of DIYs, I did manage to squeeze one into my schedule.  As an obsessor of men’s fashion, it’s no surprise that I’m a sucker for elbow patches.  I am always on the hunt for a good elbow-patched-cardigan or sweater for fall.  They’re a tough find.  I finally got sick of seeing all of the adorable fall outfits on Pinterest, clad in elbow patches, that I decided to make them myself.  It turned out super cute and now I have an adorable fall sweater unlike any one I’ve ever seen.  If this sparks your interest, keep an eye out for the full tutorial later this week!

DSCN4903

DSCN4914

DSCN4908

DSCN4928

Target Cardigan (similar) | Target + FEED USA Chambray Shirt | Gap Always Skinny Jeans | Franco Sarto Leather Boots | Warby Parker Frames | Walmart Plaid Scarf | Lauren Conrad Earrings

Check back in a few days for the full elbow-patch tutorial or like my Facebook page for all the latest updates!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

facebook.pinterest.twitter

One thought on “the last six weeks.

  1. Pingback: patterned patches: an elbow patch DIY | pleatsandpearls

Any thoughts?

