renaissance revival

Hey folks!

I’m sorry I’m such a liar – I made a point of promising more frequent posts, but with the stress of the last weeks of school, I haven’t come through! But, on the positive side, since I’ve been working so hard, I actually can show you what I’ve been working on.  For my fashion history course, our semester final project is a student choice, where we can work with a partner and do just about anything showing our learnings from the ancient to Edwardian periods.  Mary and I decided to tag team it and like always, we came up with over the top ideas.  Honestly, we could’ve just written a 10-15 page paper and called it a day, but we apparently like to make things super complicated…

For our project, we focused on 16th century France, the time where Catherine de’ Medici ruled.  Instead of writing a paper focusing on her, we somehow decided it would be easier (hah!) to turn our paper into a magazine.  It turned out really well – better than I expected.  It helped that I had so much experience in Photoshop and Illustrator this semester in another class, but it still took a good 25+ hours for the magazine portion alone.  I’m geek-ily very proud of it and it’s a little upsetting that in the long run – and really, in the short run too – that this project doesn’t matter since I already landed a job and I graduate in 8 days.  Nevertheless, I’m still very happy with the final product and I wanted to share it with someone other than my professor.

I’m still working on my Photoshop skills, so if you happen to be an expert, please give me some feedback!  Mary and I would love to know how to do things better :)  Here are a few of my favorite pages.  I also have a link to the PDF below if you really want to see the whole thing!

Cover

 

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.01.26 AM

 

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.02.33 AM

 

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.02.44 AM

 

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.03.05 AM

 

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.03.17 AM

 

Screen Shot 2013-12-12 at 10.01.38 AM

 

CoverPDF

I’m so glad to be done with that.  A lot of hard work, sweat, hunger, and profanity went into each and every page.  Now I need to focus on studying for my actual exams and then Ames – I’m out of here.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Any thoughts?

