the one with the growing up.

Hey friends and followers!

It’s been quite the whirlwind of a week. In the past week, I’ve graduated, found an apartment, gotten my first smartphone, bought all new furniture including a bed, gotten all kinds of insurance, and bought a new car. You’d think with all of these new things I’d feel super great and adult-like. Unfortunately, that’s not the case. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so grateful to be getting on with my life now that I’m free from college, but shit– could someone have given me a heads up as to how overwhelming this would all be?

Let’s do a quick run through of the past week before getting on to my uncertain future.

Friday, December 20th
The day I’d been waiting for: graduation. I could finally cross that ever elusive item off my bucket list: graduating college with the highest possible honors, summa cum laude. I started my day with a 7:30 am final, which I totally annihilated. I moved out of my apartment, then filled up on some Culver’s before graduation. The actual ceremony was a snoozefest, but it felt good when it was over. Afterwards, my family and I went to Buffalo Wild Wings for dinner. Overall, a successful, but tiring day.

1459050_10202196706393387_123217139_n

1510628_10201839568848917_371021720_n

Saturday, December 21st
Saturday morning I colored my hair and spent most of the day packing. Afterward, I finally got my smart phone!! I have only had it for a week now and I already am [purposely] forgetting what life was like before.  After getting the hang of the pitfalls of autocorrect, I’m starting to look a little less like a complete idiot while using it.  I also had to immediately download the essentials: Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Pinterest, Instagram, and Snapchat.  My life is complete (for the time being that is).  That night we had our family Christmas dinner and gift opening.  I pretty much got every kitchen appliance/item one would ever need.  AKA–I need to learn how to cook.  I was particularly excited about a certain Gap sweater I received from Mal and Steph that I’d been lusting over for some time.  Again, another long day, but very successful.

my first instagram

my first instagram

Mal and I before family Christmas

Mal and I before family Christmas

Sunday, December 22nd
This was likely the most relaxing day yet.  The weather was wretched, so we stayed inside and played a lot of cards.  It wasn’t too eventful, other than snapping this adorable picture of Chee napping by the fire.

photo-2

Monday, December 23rd – Wednesday, December 25th
On Monday, we drove up to Minnesota to celebrate the rest of the holidays with my grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.  It was a time filled with food, games, gifts, food, drinks, more gambling, and more food.  I always love going up to MN to spend time with my Aunt Sarah and her four kids.  I’m not a kid person, but damn, she’s done the best job raising them and I love them all to death.  (And that’s saying a lot on her part–The triplets are 11 and Gaby just turned 5!  What a handful!) It’ll be nice to just be living a good two hours away from them in just another week.  I wasn’t sure for a long time where I’d end up when I graduated, so I’m glad I’ll get to see them often.

My Cool Aunt Sarah being stylish as ever.

My Cool Aunt Sarah being stylish as ever.

Myself and Madeline.

Myself and Madeline.

The boys.

The boys.

Miss Gabrielle.

Miss Gabrielle.

Thursday, December 26th
This truly was the never-ending day.  My parents and I left Minnesota in the wee hours of the morning and drove over to Madison to apartment hunt.  Two of the places I had appointments with cancelled at the last minute, so I had only two places to choose from.  Thankfully, one of the two was extremely nice and not too far of a commute for work (only 35 minutes!).  Although it’s super nice, it is a studio, so I’ll have to be super crafty with space.  It’s going to be tough to fit my stuff in there in a logical manner, so wish me luck.  After finding the apartment, we went to the furniture store to find a bed and some starter furniture.  I probably tried out at least 25 different beds, before saying “whatever” and just pointed at one and went with that.  I also got a cute little couch so Kast and Ali can, you know, sit down, when they come over.  After the furniture frenzy, we met with my new insurance agent on our way home.  I think this day might have been the worst.  I don’t recall ever being so overwhelmed with information in my life.  When people said being a grown-up sucks, they should have been more specific.  The information and financial overload of starting off on your own is just terrifying.  And for all of the girls that went directly from college to living with their boyfriends, I don’t have much sympathy.  Doing this all on your own is terrifying–hence why I have the utmost respect for my oldest sister, Stephanie.  She even bought a house by herself.  What a rockstar.

Friday, December 27th
Car day!  I started Friday with such excitement.  Garbear (my dad) said I could sleep in since I’ve been so stressed, and then we’d go in and test drive a few cars in the afternoon.  I did sleep in, but what started as test driving turned into 6 hours at the dealership.  After much back and forth and an upsetting cruise control incident, I bought a brand new Nissan Sentra.  It’s white, which isn’t my favorite, but I’ll survive.  Not too shabby, eh?

photo 4

Saturday, December 28th
This hunt for apartment things is seriously non-stop.  After lightening my hair a little more, I went out to Target and Kohl’s to search for some end tables, rugs, etc.  I found a cute plum/cream chevron rug from Kohl’s.  At Target, it was like the Nate Berkus and Threshold haul.  I felt like I got ALL of the things.  I did make out with some good finds including the two tables below ($20, $17).  Afterward, I picked up my car and drove away with thoughts of sophistication and grown-up-hood – that is, until I hit our soupy mess of a gravel road and I nearly cried as my car turned into a muddy blob.

photo 3

new car!

new car!

light hair//plaids + stripes

light hair//plaids + stripes

Believe it or not, those are the only things I’ve done in the past week.  Pretty boring, right? (Sense the sarcasm.)

In the mean time, I’ll get back to unpacking my school totes and geeking out over the fact that Gap’s instagram liked my picture (see above).  I’m going to the Quad Cities for New Year’s Eve, then I’ll be off to Madison next Friday.  Stay tuned for fashion fixes from up North and an upcoming Urban Decay beauty review!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

facebook | twitter | pinterest | instagram

Any thoughts?

