a new beginning.

Hello all,

It’s been a very long time since I last posted and not necessarily by choice.  I’ve been just itching to get into the swing of blogging again but this recent move has limited my time and resources.  I still don’t have cable or internet at my apartment, so I’m blogging from the clubhouse which I just discovered has free wifi.  Today will just be a life update and my thoughts on being an adult, but look forward to my second beauty review over the weekend!

For being an adult, I sure don’t feel like I’m an adult.

This week I’ve felt more useless and like a waste of space than I ever have before.  Partially, it wasn’t my fault, but it was my choosing to lay on the couch for the past four days watching up to season 5 of FRIENDS. Whoops.

As I mentioned in my last update, I found an apartment in Verona.  This past Friday, I, with the help of my parents and a giant u-haul, drove up and moved myself in.  Kast (my roommate from this summer) proved just how great [and manly] of a guy he is and helped move all of my heavy stuff.  Sorry ladies, he’s taken.  The move in process actually went pretty well to my surprise.  I feel like move-in day is always so stressful with so many things going on.  I always end up yelling or crying or dropping things resulting in the former results.  Other than the fact that most of the cleaning supplies froze along with all of the furniture, it went pretty well.  So of course, if moving in went well, something else had to go wrong, right?  Right.

After dropping off the u-haul with my dad, we were heading back to Verona in my brand-spankin-new car and it died.  Yes, you read that right – my less-than-a-week-old 2013 new car that I dropped a small fortune on, died.  After much panic, lots of tears, and about an hour later, my new car was towed and I remained vehicle-less.  We had to pay to get it towed.  We also didn’t receive a rental car even though it’s under warranty.  My parents left the following day, meaning that when I got my car back yesterday, I had gone 4 days without a car.  I know that might not seem like much, but there are a few things to take into consideration.  For one, I just moved in!  There are so many things that I realized I needed that I couldn’t pick up.  Two, I don’t live “in-town”.  I’m not within walking distance of anything, especially not in this weather.  Speaking of weather, this ridiculous arctic-polar-eclipse-snowmageddon or whatever they’re calling this recent drop in temperatures, occurred during this timeframe, making it not even safe to walk outside.  So yes, the car thing sucked, but the worst part?  They didn’t even find anything wrong with it and just gave the car back.  Seriously?  I was stuck in the middle of a busy intersection during rush hour traffic and you’re telling me there’s nothing wrong with it?  Super frustrating.  Oh well.  If you can take something from my bad experience, I don’t recommend Nissan.

Besides the car thing and my lack of internet/cable, it hasn’t been too bad.  I did get to hang out with Ali and Kast for two days before they left for their trip to New York.  We went to the mall, had birthday dinner with Kast, followed by a birthday brunch the next morning.  It was a really great time and it helped take my mind off the stress of the move.

Kast turned 23! Cutest couple ever.

Kast turned 23! Cutest couple ever.

Birthday brunch at DLUX downtown.

Birthday brunch at DLUX downtown.

I also had a small incident at J.Crew and went a little nuts.  You’ll see the result in my next fashion fix, I’m sure.  I love Madison and I’m glad to be back.  It’s weird living on my own, since I’ve never not had a roommate before.  I’m getting used to it and I’ll be sure to update you on all of the crazy things one experiences when being a single twenty-something living on their own.  Right now my biggest concern is how to arrange a studio in a way that makes sense.  I have a queen sized bed, a couch, a small kitchen table, and a TV on an adorable TV stand.  Trying to fit all of that into one small room is tough.  I wanted to get one of those folding walls to separate my bed from the rest of the room, but it doesn’t look like it will be possible.  I’m figuring it out as I go and hopefully, I get the hang of this grown-up thing soon.

My Nate Berkus bed.

My Nate Berkus bed.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

3 thoughts on “a new beginning.

  1. Ah no how horrible! I had a nissan which was very old and had a leak over the wiring so in wet weather it would just stop working. So annoying and stressful (especially when in the fast lane on the motorway!). It was a good car and kept going for a lot longer than I expected it too though. I hope yours decides to behave itself! Sounds like super poor customer service though :(

    I hope everything’s settling down a bit for you now!

    • Thanks! It’s horrible since it’s a brand new car that I got specifically so I wouldn’t have to deal with car issues!! I’m doing well at the moment but I start my new job in Monday so that will be an interesting transition.

Any thoughts?

