the one with all of the adjusting.

Hey friends!

It feels so good to sit down and just get to type for the next thirty minutes.  I was going to do a mid-week update on my first week of my first job, but I’m glad I waited until the weekend.  I’m a little more level headed now that I’ve gotten to sleep, go to Target, and enjoy a Chinese buffet.  It’s funny, during school I used to hate Sundays.  It was the last day of my weekend and I spent it doing homework and fussing about the upcoming week.  Now that I’m living alone and working full time, I love Sundays.  Yes, it’s the last day of my weekend, but I’m taking full advantage of the relaxation.  I can think minimally and do what want to do before starting the work week back up again.  So needless to say, I love today.

I’m not going to sugarcoat things, last week was rough.  Between work, my commute combined with bad weather, trying to still get my cable set up, and adjusting to living alone, I had a pretty hard time.  Trying to get into a routine is tough and I know I need to give it some time.  I’m not going to really dive into the specifics of work, I’ll just leave it at this:  I was spot-on in my assumptions of the differences between my placement now and my placement during my internship.  Here’s to hoping that things get better.

Although there was lots of crying last week, there were a few positives.  First, I got to see my old team.  I was able to see Eric a few times and briefly chat with him while we had water parties (just like the old days).  I had lunch with Bridget on my first day, which was a nice way to break up the chaos that is the first day of a new job.  I also got a Lands’ End down vest which I’m absolutely obsessed with.  It’s freakishly warm and I can’t bring myself to take it off.  Hell, I’m wearing it as I type this.

Photo on 1-19-14 at 1.02 PM

 

This weekend was good for me.  I was able to drive up to Baraboo on Saturday to see my Cool Aunt Sarah (yes, that is her official name) and my cousins for Sam and Alex’s basketball tournament.  It was good to see them, as always, but it also helped to take my mind off of the stress I feel when I’m at home.  We went out for Chinese afterward and I naturally stuffed myself silly, as always.  Today I’ve been keeping it low key.  I’ve been making an effort to learn how to cook things that don’t come out of a box, and tried out my chef skills with a Tomato Basil Parmesan slow cooker soup.  It smells delicious, but unfortunately won’t be ready for another 4 1/2 hours.  Sigh.

I’ve been trying to get in frequent Skype dates with the people making me sane during this adjustment period.  I’ve skyped with my parents and sisters a few times.  I’ve skyped or facetimed with my former roommate Emily pretty often as well.  She’s studying abroad in England this semester and is experiencing quite the adjustment herself, so it’s nice to have someone to talk to about that stuff.  My friend Amy that I graduated with in December just started her big girl job this month as well.  She’s at Von Maur back in Iowa, so we are going through the same types of things– so it’s nice to share stories, tips, experiences, etc.

I know my week wasn’t particularly eventful in terms of words, but here is my week in pictures.

My desk.

My desk.

Being an adult and making my own coffee.

Being an adult and making my own coffee.

Comfy casual for work.

Comfy casual for work.

Grungy Glam for Friday.

Grungy Glam for Friday.

Hanging out with my favorite 5 year old at the boys' basketball game.

Hanging out with my favorite 5 year old at the boys’ basketball game.

Rocking my new LE down vest and a classic cable.

Rocking my new LE down vest and a classic cable.

My attempt at cooking!

My attempt at cooking!

That’s about it.  I’m not quite as exciting as I once was.  I guess that happens when you get older.  I can promise you that there will be a fashion fix coming soon.  Ali will be back in town next weekend and I’ll try to get a few shoots in.  I have some new pieces I’m dying to show you anyway.

Until then, take a peek at the progress of my apartment.

photo 2

photo 5

photo 2

photo 1

photo 3

photo-4

photo 5

photo 4

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram!

2 thoughts on “the one with all of the adjusting.

  1. Hang in there…it does get easier. I remember the first 2 months being out here trying to learn a new team culture and a new routine all while trying to figure out a completely new state all by myself. At the time I remember being overwhelmed and doubted my decision to move but now that I have a routine, a friend, and the family here I feel at home. You will too in time :) Miss you girlie!

Any thoughts?

