geek chic.

DSCN5186

Hey there!

I’m in a particularly chipper mood today since I got to have dinner with Ali and Kast after work.  Now that I got in a lot of laughs and have a belly full of Chinese, I’m ready to sit down with all of you.  Although today wasn’t too shabby, it doesn’t hold a candle to yesterday.  No, it has nothing to do with the Seahawks winning the Super Bowl, or that adorable Budweiser commercial with the puppy (although I did get a little weepy with that one).  Yesterday was one of those days that your mood is entirely dictated by how you feel you look– and not to completely throw away my slice of humble pie, but damn it did I look good.  With how gross I’ve been feeling about life lately, I deserved yesterday.  So call me full of it, but I looked good and I felt good.

Why was I feeling so fan-freaking-tastic?  As I mentioned in my previous post, I had been buying away my sorrows and I finally got to show off some of my fabulous finds.  When wearing new clothes and accessories, you already feel a little extra glamorous, but what I had going on was like the perfect storm.  I was not only wearing an entirely new outfit, but the majority of that outfit was from J.Crew– which is my fashion heaven– and they were my first purchases from a J.Crew ever.  Pretty exciting, eh?  So in short, I was wearing my aspirational brand for the first time and needless to say, I fell in love.  I mean, actually in love.  I think I actually said the words, “who needs a man when they can have J.Crew?”  Too much?  Not enough…

Their jeans are probably the best thing I’ve ever had on me (that’s what she said…), but seriously.  Now that I’ve experienced their jeans, I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to wear any other denim again.  I thought I knew how jeans should fit – but holy crap– my mind was blown.  It was one of those lightbulb moments when you’re like “ah, yes, this is what my legs are supposed to look like.”  I literally ran around my apartment and Kast’s apartment exclaiming “look at my legs! Look at my ass!”  A little obnoxious, yes, but these jeans seriously are nearly too good to be true.  I smiled the entire day.  They’re pretty darn magical.  It’s funny what a little confidence booster can do to your entire mood.

The best part about this all?  I didn’t completely break the bank.  Everything I wore I had gotten on super sale.  If you’re willing to spend a little time hunting, your savings will repay you.

For this particularly sunny Sunday, I went for a cold weather cool, geek chic look.  I’m all about the menswear inspirations, and you can hardly find me not wearing an oxford or popover nowadays, so of course I had to infuse that into my outfit of the day.

DSCN5187

DSCN5204

DSCN5198

DSCN5194

DSCN5210

DSCN5196

J.Crew Tribal Sweater | J.Crew Toothpick Skinny Jeans | Lands’ End Lawn Shirt | Target Suede Ankle Booties | Madewell Rings | Warby Parker Frames

What clothing items do you have that you absolutely swear by and would die without?

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

For the latest and greatest, follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest!

3 thoughts on “geek chic.

Any thoughts?

