weekend update.

Hey friends!!

Whoa has it been a long week – and a short weekend.  That’s how it tends to work though, isn’t it?  I’m mentally and physically exhausted, and quite frankly, I’ll probably be to bed within the next two hours.  So net-net, I’ll keep this super short and sweet.  But for those who ache for a fashion fix, that’ll come later this week :)

Things have still been rocky for me lately.  In general, personally, I’m not in a great place.  I’m still struggling with adapting to everything and coming to terms with the fact that this is what life is like now.  I don’t have social interaction during the week outside of work.  I’m gone from my apartment typically from 7:30-6:30, and when I get home, I don’t do much of anything.  It’s still outrageously cold out, so it makes me not want to run errands or workout when I’m already so tired from work.  Yes, I’m making excuses, but I’m still adjusting, so I’m allowed to a little.  I’m going to eventually get more into a routine and things will come more easily, but for now, I don’t do a whole lot.  The only things that keep me going are Skype dates with my family and friends, and weekend-long hangouts with Ali and Kast.  Ali and Kast have kept me remotely sane these past few weeks and are always down for a good life chat.  They also are big believers in retail therapy and happen to be fantastic photographers for fashion fixes.  Convenient.

In terms of the adult things, they’re not so hot either.  I, unfortunately, came home from work a few weeks ago to a note from my apartment complex stating I needed to remove my dish satellite within 48 hours because it violates my lease.  Awesome.  I’d already had about 15 and a half issues related to cable already, so I wasn’t exactly itching to take out my dish within 3 weeks of getting it.  Even though Dish told me they could do service at Prairie Crest, they’re charging me some $450ish for breaking my contract and removing the dish.  Stellar.  Because recent grads do happen to have $450 just lying around to throw away.  Getting cable seems to be a lot more effort than it’s worth.  In other news, I’m kind of great at this energy efficiency business, since my electric/heat bill for last month was $31.  I deserve some sort of award.

In happier news, my parents drove up to Dubuque today, which is only about an hour and twenty minutes from Verona.  We had a delicious lunch at Olive Garden (my favorite) and then walked around the mall.  It was my first time seeing them since I moved up to Wisconsin and it was just a nice, relaxing day – which is exactly what I needed.  And I finally found black leather ankle boots after my several-week-long search.  Today was a definite success.

I said I’d keep it short, so here is a look at the rest of my week in instagrams:

I spent all of last Sunday with these crazy kids.  We naturally documented every stop we made on our busy day of killing time.

I spent all of last Sunday with these crazy kids. We naturally documented every stop we made on our busy day of killing time.

Making it through the work week, one cup of coffee at a time.

Making it through the work week, one cup of coffee at a time.

Valentine's Day gift to myself:  Lands' End Canvas polka dot skinnies and a polka dot lawn shirt, Godiva chocolate, and Girl Scout cookies.

Valentine’s Day gift to myself: Lands’ End Canvas polka dot skinnies and a polka dot lawn shirt, Godiva chocolate, and Girl Scout cookies.

Dinner at Chili's with Ali and Kast.

Dinner at Chili’s with Ali and Kast.

A sneak peek at my upcoming beauty reviews...

A sneak peek at my upcoming beauty reviews…

Tea in my Crazy Cat Lady mug.

Tea in my Crazy Cat Lady mug.

Getting to see my parents for the day.

Getting to see my parents for the day.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

facebook | instagram | pinterest | twitter

2 thoughts on “weekend update.

  1. From one young professional (and Iowa girl) to another, it gets better! You’re not the only one who has struggled to adjust to a new work schedule, but I promise, after a couple months you get used to your new routine and suddenly life becomes fun again. :) Take heart! And in the meantime, don’t forget to be kind to yourself – treat yourself to a movie or an evening at the book store, to get your mind off things. Hang in there!

Any thoughts?

