dots + details

DSCN5223

Hey friends!

As promised, I have your weekly fashion fix.  Since I haven’t had as much time as I did when I was still in school to take blog pictures, naturally I have less frequent fashion fixes.  I’m hoping that I can eventually crank out two a week, but it’s tough when you work during the full daylight hours of Monday through Friday.    Fewer posts have been tough since I have acquired some pretty sweet pieces over the past two months that I’m absolutely dying to share.

Lately, I’ve been all about the details.  I feel as though how you wear your clothing says a lot more about you than the pieces themselves.  Designer brands only can go so far.  It’s the little things in fashion that get me really excited; the turn of a cuff, the roll of a pant, the perfectly paired jewelry and that sweet spot with the number of buttons you choose to leave open/unopened.  I’m a total details nerd, hence why I’m so in love with menswear.

But I digress…some of my favorite new items have fallen into the accessories realm.  I’ve been really big into rings for the past few months and gold jewelry in general.  I feel like when you get a good collection of rings, cuffs, and necklaces of various metals, you can practically mix and match them with any outfit.  That’s how it should be, too.  I hate when people buy a necklace and they say, “what can I wear with this?”  It shouldn’t be like that – you shouldn’t build your outfits around your jewelry; you should have a rounded assortment of jewelry to go with any outfit.  Personally, I separate my jewelry into two categories by wearing occasion:  when I want to feel fancy and when I want to feel like a badass.  This fashion fix fell on a day when I was feeling the latter, so I went for basics layered with bold accessories.  I stepped out in my new polka dot skinnies from Lands’ End Canvas, my go-to chambray, studded flats, and pops of neon for an eye-catching ensemble.

DSCN5222

DSCN5229

DSCN5236

DSCN5244

DSCN5243

Lands’ End Canvas Skinny Jeans | Target Chambray Shirt (similar) | Target Studded Flats (similar)| Target Boatneck Tee | Fossil Wristlet | BCBGeneration Rhinestone Spike Necklace | BCBGeneration Spiked Ring | BCBGeneration FIERCE Affirmation Bracelet | Gap Rhinestone Cuff

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

One thought on “dots + details

Any thoughts?

