beauty review: finding the best lip balm

Hi friends!

As spring is approaching, it may seem a tad overdue that I’m just now doing a beauty review on finding the best lip balm for the cold months of the year.  But, if you live in a northern state as I do, I’m sure you’re still struggling with the dry air and unpleasant cold fronts.  For the past few months, I’ve been on an intense hunt for a lip balm that can brave the wintery, dry air of Wisconsin.  I don’t know what was different about this winter, but my lips were constantly dry to the point of cracking and peeling no matter what product I was using or how often I applied.  Needless to say, it was a tough search, but I did find a winner in the end.  Over the past few months, I tried out 5 different lip balms.  Some were okay, one was just awful, and fortunately, one was perfect.  And ironically enough, the winner was one I had used when I was younger and is insanely cheap.

photo 1_2

 

I figured the best way to go about reviewing each product would be to do it by rank.  I’ll start with the worst and end with the best.  Sound good?  Let’s start.

5. Maybelline Baby Lips Dr. Rescue in Just Peachy, $3.94 at Target

photo 3

All I have to really say is yikes.  This guy was my second to last find in my search, and boy was it a bad one.  I had tried Baby Lips in “Cherry Me” a few weeks prior, and as you’ll read below, my main issue was with how tinted it was.  I went back to Target, hoping to find a non-tinted option, as, at the time, I truly did believe this product could stand a chance.  I picked “Just Peachy” as it was a neutral tone and called out on the label that it was medicated.  I figured I couldn’t really go wrong.  I, unfortunately, was quite wrong and although this one was not called out as tinted, it was.  Actually, tinted is an understatement; it was more like a lip color than a lip balm.  Essentially, the color was a pasty-peach that made my lips disappear into my face.  Aesthetically, it looked so bad on that it would not be suitable for the public eye.  I put it on before bed just to see if it worked well overnight to evaluate its functionality, but it was still subpar.  My lips were still dry and peeling.  I do not in any way recommend this product.

4. Eos in Summer Fruit, $2.99 at Target

photo 2I feel like Eos has a moderate cult following, so before you all come burning down my apartment complex, hear me out.  I really do love Eos – in the summer.  It is very effective in keeping your lips smooth and hydrated when it’s late spring or summer.  But in terms of consistency across seasons, Eos failed the test.  I would have to reapply every 20-30 minutes at work and my lips still were cracking.  And since I had to apply it so often, it began to leave that residue that we all hate.  I would recommend Eos in the summer or if your lips aren’t heavily affected by the weather, but otherwise, you need to find an alternate for the cold half of the year.

3. Blistex Five Star Lip Protection, $1.52 at Walmart

photo 5

Sorry, Blistex – but I’d try to set that ego aside, because your lip balm is not “five stars.”  I might give it 3 stars, the number at which it ranks on my list.  Although this one is a step up from the past two, it still was disappointing.  It did help with the overall dryness, but it did not stop from flaking and peeling.  It also left residue no matter the amount of uses.  It’s not terrible, but my experience was sub-par.

2. Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me, $3.94 at Target

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 3.39.03 PM

I had tried Baby Lips at the recommendation of a close friend, trying this particular one before the awful peachy fiasco.  Now the main issue here may just come down to poor marketing on Maybelline or Target’s part.  The display of Baby Lips lip balms are split into three sections.  Only one of the three sections was labeled as tinted, so I stayed out of that selection.  Baby Lips/Target is sitting on a throne of lies, because it is most definitely tinted (as you could tell by my other Baby Lips selection).  The color was a vivid rosy red, which I typically wouldn’t mind, but it was a little bright to wear consistently everyday.  It was got brighter with every application – which was rather unfortunate since I had to apply hourly.  In terms of functionality, it worked relatively well.  When I first began using it, I saw a big change, but it kind of plateaued after a few days.  My lips got somewhat smoother and less flakey, but it dropped off after a few uses, leaving my lips back in their dry, sad state.  Because this particular product showed promise, I headed back to try out another definitely non-tinted version, which led me to “Just Peachy”, but we all know how that went.

1. Blistex Lip Medex Lip Protectant, $1.59 at Walgreens

photo 1

We finally have our winner.  I used Lip Medex as a kid and throughout high school, as its what my mom always bought us.  I sort of forgot it existed for awhile, but after complaining about my unsuccessful search to my mom(most likely while wearing the pasty peach disaster of a lip balm), she told me to pick up Lip Medex.  I had looked for it during college before, but could never find it.  Turns out, it’s only sold at Walgreens, but like they say in the commercials, there is one on nearly every corner.  I was ecstatic to find out it is only $1.59, practically tied for least expensive with the other Blistex balm at $1.52.  Within one use, I already saw huge changes.  After using it for about a week now, I can say that my lips are super smooth and back to normal.  What a relief.  It’s funny – the miracle balm I was looking for, was truly there all along.

Well, time for you to run to the store and pick up your new favorite lip balm.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

 

Any thoughts?

