wear to work: neutral territory

DSCN5322

Happy Sunday.

For awhile now, I’ve been wanting to write a Wear to Work post to give women styling inspiration to up their fashion game in the workplace.  The more I thought about it, the more I realized that no two workplaces are the same.  Even within the same profession, I know that dress codes can vary greatly, giving you an entire spectrum in the amount of freedom you have in what you wear to work.  I decided to create more of a series instead, demonstrating various levels of dress from casual to formal work environments.  To kick off the series, my very trendy friend Ali let me style her, in order to show two different looks that can be classified as business casual.  We went with an over-arching theme of neutral tones in a grey-white-black color story, with our underlying theme being “things we recently bought at J. Crew that we’re dying to show off.”

For my look, I went for a dressier button-down top with modern ruffled cuffs paired with a sleek pair of black denim.  I accessorized with simple black booties, minimal jewelry, and a colorful lip.  I wanted to show another side of business casual on Ali, putting her in a dressy sweatshirt and ivory cords.  I kept her accessories to a minimum as well, placing her in a simple bracelet, statement studs, and leopard flats to give her a little attitude.  To me, the key to dressing under the bucket of business casual is to have one of your key pieces be something that would be considered a little “dressier” and pairing it with more casual items.

DSCN5308

DSCN5314

DSCN5313

DSCN5330

DSCN5349

DSCN5321

DSCN5339

DSCN5359

DSCN5310

DSCN5352

On Ali: J.Crew Sweatshirt | Gap Cord Leggings | Leopard Flats (similar) | Coach Handbag

On Kaylee: J. Crew Button-down (similar) | J. Crew Toothpick Denim | Lauren Conrad Ankle Boots | BCBGeneration Spike Ring | Madewell Rings | Vintage Teardrop Earrings

Is there anything you’d like to see styled?  Do you have a difficult dress code to abide by?  I’d love to hear and help you out!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

DSCN5343

 

facebook | instagram | twitter

pinterest | polyvore

5 thoughts on “wear to work: neutral territory

Any thoughts?

