casual dressing: 101

DSCN5653 Hi there! If there is one thing that my fellow fashionistas tell me they need to work on the most, it would have to be dressing casual.  Something that may seem so simple can actually be difficult for us lovers of layers and accessorization.  Personally, I used to struggle with this quite a bit myself.  I loved putting together more refined styles, but I didn’t give much thought to “lazy days”.  I would just throw on a t-shirt, jeans, and put my hair up– and I wouldn’t think twice.  I had come to terms with the fact that unless I was dressed up, I wouldn’t be fashionable.  This is probably one of the biggest misconceptions there is about fashion and styling your wardrobe.  If you get one thing out of this, I want it to be that you can be stylish, put together, and totally chic at any and every level of dress. Nowadays, I actually get more excited about casual dressing, because although it appears simpler, I feel like it’s more of a creative puzzle since you have fewer pieces to work with.  For example, you may have a basic sweater.  What are you going to pair with your sweater to keep it casual but to also make you look completely polished and chic?  There’s no one right answer, but that’s kind of the fun in it, right?  (I know, I’m a total geek about this, but let’s keep going.) You could go with some cute cargoes or easy track pants.  Or if it’s extra nice out, spring for the cuffed shorts.   I feel like another big misconception about styling in general is that you always must be “fully accessorized”.  This is total crap.  Others might disagree, but I have a different take on accessorizing I guess.  I only accessorize if it’s adding value to my outfit.  For example, a simple black dress can be taken to another level by adding a pop belt and arm cuff.  But, if you want to tell a truly casual story with your outfit, you do not need to be piling on a stack of bracelets and rings.  Defeats the purpose a little, am I right?  Personally, I think one can be fully accessorized with some chic shades and a great bag.  That easy. I recently took this “less is more” approach in what very well may be in the world’s most comfortable sweater, my new railroad stripe skinnies (Yes, the same pair from my spring must-haves! I finally caved!), neutral flats, and an easy baseball hat to cover that bedhead. DSCN5662 DSCN5669 DSCN5680 DSCN5656 DSCN5661 DSCN5682 DSCN5671

J. Crew Tunic Sweater | J. Crew Railroad Stripe Skinny Jeans | TOMS Classics | J. Crew Baseball Hat | Ray Ban Clubmasters | Gap Cuff (similar)

It’s funny, once you nail down a go-to casual style, you may just find that you feel just as confident leaving the house in that as you would in killer heels and a flirty frock.  Personally, I felt like I looked pretty smokin’.  You can ask Ali and Kast– I may or may not have let out my inner Ron Burgundy several times throughout the day, exclaiming, “Everyone! Come see how good I look!”  But in all seriousness, the key to good style is feeling confident in all levels of dress.  So step away from the pile of accessories, and get back to basics.

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Stay Connected!

facebook | instagram | twitter

pinterest | polyvore

5 thoughts on “casual dressing: 101

  1. Hi Kaylee!

    I somehow stumbled across your blog while looking for reviews of TOMS this evening. I am looking at purchasing my very first pair! I have read all sorts of stories on various websites about TOMS making feet really sweaty so I have been hesitant to buy a pair myself. Has this been your experience with TOMS or are your feet always dry when you wear them?

    Fantastic website, by the way! You have a new fan!

    Sarah.

    • Hi sarah,
      I have multiple pairs and it honestly depends on the pair. My black glitters do make my feet sweat due to the heavier material. My ivory shimmer ones do that a little too particularly in the summers. But my classics and sandals never have a problem! Hope this helps!

      • Thank you for the excellent feedback! Having never owned a pair of TOMS, I am completely in the dark about them, so your feedback is really appreciated! I think I prefer the look of the black glitter TOMS, so I will probably go with those. Is the sweat they cause particularly noticeable or is it only very mild? Do you find they smell over time or is the only issue with them being sweaty? Thanks so much!

        Sarah.

Any thoughts?

