beauty review: almay smart shade concealer

Oh hello there!

It’s been quite some time since we’ve last chatted, but I’ve had good reason.  Last weekend I moved!  Across the parking lot, yes, but it was still a move.  I’m now in a two-bedroom with my friend from my internship, Lauren.  Our place is huge and I promise pictures later this week when everything comes together!

In the midst of the moving, I’ve still been crazy busy with work, which naturally has caused some stress.  So this seemed like the perfect timing for another beauty review on a new concealer I’ve been using.  When I get stressed out, I break out, as many of us do.  I’ve been on the hunt for a concealer that can cover me when things get stressful, finding some okay ones, but nothing phenomenal.  I think my most recent concealer is the best thus far, but I’m always open to hearing what everyone else is loving.

Almay Smart Shade Concealer

$6.69 at Target

photo-9

This concealer is a no-fuss, no-brainer, so I’ll just cut to the chase.  Thus far in my search, this is as good as it gets.  The whole idea behind “smart-shade” is that you pick your general skin-tone (for me, it is of course, light) and the concealer does the rest of the work.  It works to match your skin tone in order to blend evenly, giving you a natural, smooth complexion.  Although it’s quite a small bottle, it goes a long way.  I use a dot only slightly larger than a pinpoint on each blemish and blend it in.  For particularly tough areas, I may put a second layer on.  It does have pretty good staying power for all-day wear, which can be tough to find.  It also has not irritated my skin in any way or made my break outs worse.  Unless I get a recommendation of a better concealer, I think I’ll keep going with my new Almay.  She’s not letting me down.

Before

Before

After: With Concealer

After: With Concealer

After: With Concealer + Foundation

After: With Concealer + Foundation

Loves: Lightweight, dries quickly, a little goes a long way, lasts for nearly all-day wear, blends well and looks natural

Not in love with: Very small bottle, a little pricey for such a small bottle.

Do you have a concealer that you just love?  I’d definitely love to hear suggestions on what to try next!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee.

Stay Connected!

facebook | instagram | twitter

pinterest | polyvore

2 thoughts on “beauty review: almay smart shade concealer

  1. I’ve been wanting to try this! and I actually ran out of foundation this morning and was thinking of trying the Almay Smart Shade foundation. So this may give me an excuse to get both! :)

Any thoughts?

