the one with the new apartment.

Happy Sunday!

It’s been quite the weekend/past few weeks and I’ve had a lot going on.  Between a peak time at work, visiting my sisters, and them visiting me, I’ve kept myself pretty busy.  Fortunately, their recent visit forced me to kick my apartment-settling into high gear, and I finally have gotten my place [mostly] visitor-friendly.  I am absolutely in love with my new apartment.  It is just so spacious and I don’t feel cramped at all– which is a nice relief after living in a studio for five months.  I’m excited for this new chapter and am hoping for the best.

I snapped a few pictures of my place as it’s coming together.  I think it’s pretty darn cute.

kitchen

kitchen

living room

living room

living room

living room part two

dining area

dining area

DSCN5958

breakfast bar

bedroom

bedroom

bedroom

bedroom

Beatles rack

Beatles rack

closet

closet

It’s not perfect, and there are still a few things I’m working on putting together, but it’s getting there!

As I already mentioned, Mal and Steph visited me this weekend.  I’ve been waiting for them to visit pretty much since I moved out here, so as you can imagine, I was pretty amped.  I made them dinner (you read that right, I made them dinner!), we did a great deal of shopping, we went to Monty’s Blueplate Diner, watched a movie and a whole lot of FRIENDS.  Besides the rain putting a damper on our hopes of going to The Terrace, all was well and I think we all had a pretty good time.  I was excited to get to show them my new apartment and my favorite parts of Madison.

Here are a couple pictures from the past two weekends.

At the zoo!

At the zoo!

Zoo selfie!

Zoo selfie!

A nice little girl in the park gave us all water bottles after our workout

A nice little girl in the park gave us all water bottles after our workout

Monty's Blueplate Diner

Monty’s Blueplate Diner

Cool shot Steph took of Mal taking pictures for my upcoming fashion fix

Cool shot Steph took of Mal taking pictures for my upcoming fashion fix

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 7.13.28 PM

In somewhat related news, my sister Stephanie has a new cooking blog, Table for One, that is angled toward those who often cook for just themselves.  It’s quite an excellent read, especially for someone like me, who isn’t great at cooking.  Check it out here!

And while you’re at it, if you want the latest and greatest, follow Pleats and Pearls on Facebook!

Check back on Wednesday for an edgy, new fashion fix!

Until next time–

xo,

kaylee

facebook | instagram | twitter

pinterest | polyvore

Any thoughts?

